Linguistic and Language Learning Links
- Live MochaLive Mocha is a free, web based language learning solution integrating online instructional content with a global community of language learners. English, Spanish, French, Hindi, German, and Mandarin Chinese languages are available.
- SCOLALogin: unOmaha_VS001
Password: Dodge_6001
SCOLA is a non-profit educational organization that receives and re-transmits television programming from around the world in native languages. These programs are available via satellite, cable TV and - Activities for ESL studentsActivities for ESL Students
a4esl.org
Quizzes, tests, exercises and puzzles to help you learn English as a Second Language (ESL)
This project of The Internet TESL Journal (iteslj.org) has thousands of contributions by many teachers.
Comments (0)
Search the Locate Journals service
The Locate Journals service will show you where you can find full-text access to journals the Criss Library subscribes to in either print or electronic format. You may search by title or by subject area.
Search the Classic Catalog
Search the Library Catalog
Find books, government documents, music CDs, videos, and more...
Advanced Search techniques:
| Wildcards | Words may be right-hand truncated using an asterisk ('*') in place of other characters. The '*' wildcard may also be embedded in a search string. You may use '?' to replace a single character anywhere within a word. Examples : environment* polic*, wom?n |
|---|---|
| Boolean Operators | Use "and" or "or" to specify multiple words in any field, any order. Use "and not" to exclude words. Example : stocks and bonds Example : (alaska or canada) and (adventure and not vacation) |
| Field limits | A field limit causes the system to search only the specified field for the specified word(s). |
| Grouping | Keyword search results are usually grouped by relevance to bring the most likely titles to the top of the list. Each group represents a similar level of relevance and results are sorted within the group by date or title. To get an ungrouped result set, use boolean operators to form a complex query. |
Townsend Library
Classic books with a vocabulary appropriate for ESL learners.
English Language--Grammar--Problems, exercises, etc.
Books to assist you in your study of English grammar.
English Language--Textbooks for Foreign Speakers
Books to assist you with TOEIC and TOEFL tests, grammar, academic writing, pronunciation, ESL readers, etc.
English Language--United States
Books describing what is unique to American English.
English Language Pronunciation
Pronunciation guides including histories and colloquial or conversational usage.
Search Criss Library Databases
You may now search the Criss Library Catalog for electronic databases. Search by Alphabetical List, Subject List or Top 10 Databases List.
- Academic Search Premier
- Communication and Mass Media Complete via EBSCO
- Communication Studies: A Sage Full-Text Collection
- ERIC via CSA
- ERIC via FirstSearch
- JSTOR
- LearningExpressLibrary
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts via CSA
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
- MLA International Bibliography
- Oxford English Dictionary Online
- Project Muse
- Women's Studies International
- World Almanac
- World News Connection
Boolean Logic
Reference and Instruction Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Librarian |
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
International Studies Web Sites
U.S. State Department Country Analysis
- CountriesCountry analysis includes political, economic, societal, and demographic information.


Loading...
