Introduction to Research at the Criss Library
Greetings! My name is Marvel Maring and I am the Fine Arts and Humanities Reference Librarian at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. I'm your librarian and here to help you with your research.
Tips on how to use this Research Guide:
Search the Criss Library Catalog:
This guide has created to help you navigate the various research tools available to you at the Criss Library. The first page will highlight the items you'll find in the catalog. The catalog will index books, CD's, DVD's, musical scores, maps, government documents, Special Collections and the University Archives, along with journal title-level information. To retrieve the articles within a journal, you will be looking in a database, found on the second page of this research guide.
Search the databases:
Many of you are familiar with Academic Search Premier and some of the other frequently used databases at the Criss Library. Keep in mind that there are over three hundred databases representing a wide variety of disciplines. For your use, I've selected the ones most appropriate for researchers in the communication. Each database has an indication as to whether it is full-text, citation or abstract only. Each database is a hot link that will direct you through the proxy server to our electronic resources. You will be asked to authenticate using your last name (lower case) and your NUID 8-digit number. You will have access to the databases and other resources 24/7 from your home computer.
Search for communication resources in print:
I've created an additional page that represents a selection of our holdings dealing with the subject of communication in print. Understanding the Library of Congress Subject Headings for Communication can be very helpful in understanding how materials are categorized in the catalog. Think of it as understanding the library "code."
On-line tutorials and RefWorks:
Finally, I've also included pages linking you to on-line tutorials created to illustrate how to use a particular tool or service and to our bibliographic citation management system, RefWorks.
Websites, links and associations:
Within this page, you will find websites, links and associations of interest to researchers in the very broad field of communication.
Search the Catalog
Search the Library Catalog
Find books, government documents, music CDs, videos, and more...
- The New Strategist
Call Number: Reference and Third Floor--check title
New Strategist Publications provide consumer demographic information. - Encyclopedia of political communication - Lynda Lee Kaid, Christina Holtz-Bacha.
Call Number: JA85 .E65 2008 vol. I & II Reference - Dictionary of media and communication studies - James Watson and Anne Hill
Call Number: P87.5 .W38 2006 Reference - Encyclopedia of communication and information - Jorge Reina Schement
Call Number: P87.5 .E53 2001 vol. 1-3 Reference - A dictionary of quotations about communication - Robert A. Nowlan and Gwendolyn L. Nowlan
Call Number: PN6081 .D535 2000 Reference - Mass communication law in a nutshell - T. Barton Carter, Juliet Lushbough Dee, Harvey L. Zuckman
Call Number: KF2750.Z9 M37 2000 Reference - Journalism & mass communication abstracts
Call Number: PN4700 .J62 Reference
This item is available at the Criss Library in print from 1994-1999. On-line access available from 2002-2009. - National Communication Association directory
Call Number: PN4073 .N25 Reference
Library has 2003 issue. - Language and communication : a cross-cultural encyclopedia - Findlay, Michael Shaw
Call Number: P29 .F47 1998 Reference - Encyclopedia of new media : an essential reference to communication and technology - Steve Jones
Call Number: QA76.575 .E5368 2003 Reference - Encyclopedic dictionary of semiotics, media, and communications - Marcel Danesi
Call Number: P87.5 .D36 2000 Reference
Search the Locate Journals service
The Locate Journals service will show you where you can find full-text access to journals the Criss Library subscribes to in either print or electronic format. You may search by title or by subject area.
Marvel Maring |
Marvel MaringDr. C. C. and Mabel L. Criss Library
The University of Nebraska at Omaha
Omaha, NE 68182-0237
(402) 554-2992
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Art History, Communications, English, Foreign Language, Music, Theatre
Suggest we buy
Google Books
Google Scholar Search
(search results open in a new window)
Google Web Search
Quick Links
Use the Quick Links box to return to the UNO Homepage, the Criss Library Homepage and MyUNO for Blackboard, MyMail, and MyFolder services.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait