This is the "Criss Library Databases" page of the "BSAD 8400: Market Research Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Connecting to Databases Off-campusWhen an article is not online

Admin Sign In 

BSAD 8400: Market Research Resources 

Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unomaha.edu/bsad8400  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Criss Library Databases             Print/Mobile Page
  

Criss Library Databases

  • ABI-Inform Dateline  
    Provides online access to articles published in 180 local and regional business newspapers and magazines, including titles like Crain’s Chicago Business, Smart Business Pittsburgh, and Sacramento Business Journal.
  • ABI-Inform Global  
    ABI-Inform Global indexes articles published in over 4,200 journals and magazines, with articles from over 3,100 immediately available online. The primary focus is on the research and academic literature of business, management, economics, finance, marketing and related fields; but general business magazines are covered as well. Articles from the Wall Street Journal and Barron's newspapers are available, and over 18,000 Ph.D. dissertations are included.
  • ABI-Inform Trade & Industry  
    Indexes articles published in over 1,100 trade magazines such as Candy Industry, Global Cosmetic Industry, and Hospital Business Week. These publications often prove an excellent source for information about an industry and relevant companies.
  • Business Source Premier  
    This database is notable for including online access to long runs of a number of major publications; for example, the Harvard Business Review extends back to 1922 and Journal of Marketing to 1936. It also has hundreds of Country Reports produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit. Datamonitor supplies about 10,000 company profiles and SWOT analyses to Business Source Premier.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
    Provides financial and operating data for publicly-traded companies. Click the Business tab at the top of their homepage to enter the Company Dossier file, and search for companies by name or ticker symbol. Company Dossier includes news feeds drawn from newspapers and trade magazines as well as Investext analyst reports.
  • Mintel Reports  
    Several hundred market research reports focused on consumer products and services such as: Market Drivers, Market Size and Trends, Market Segmentation, Distribution, Supply Structure, New Product Development, Advertising & Promotion, Future & Forecast, and the Consumer. Most reports are directed at the United States, but an International file provides reports for a number of European countries.
  • Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage  
    Provides company profiles to accompany its Industry Surveys. Click the Companies tab at the top of their homepage to retrieve a page from which you can link to variety of resources. Many researchers find The Outlook to be a valuable source of investment advice.
 

Search Tips

Search tips for ABI-Inform Global

Click the filter Scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed to restrict results to articles published in research journals.

Click the filter Full text documents only to restrict results to articles which are immediately available online.

You may type the title of a publication (for example, Wall Street Journal) in the first box of the 3-box search template, set the box to Publication title, and then enter topical keywords and phrases in the other two boxes. This targets articles in a single publication.

Search tips for Business Source Premier

Click the filter Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to restrict results to articles published in research journals.

Click the filter Full Text to restrict results to articles which are immediately available online.

Type the word Datamonitor in the first box of the 3-box search template and keywords to designate an industry in the second box to look for Datamonitor industry profiles.

Type the word Datamonitor in the first box of the 3-box search template, the word SWOT in the second box, and the name of a company in the third box to look for Datamonitor SWOT analyses.

Type the phrase Country Profile in the first box of the 3-box search template and the name of a country in the second box to search for reports compiled by the Economist Intelligence Unit.

 

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Profile ImageNora Hillyer
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait