This is the "Home" page of the "Government Documents" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Government Documents 

A guide to United States and State of Nebraska government documents available at Criss Library
Last update: Jun 24th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unomaha.edu/government_documents  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Catalog Search Tips

 

The Criss Library catalog contains records which describe government documents, just as it does for books, videos, and other library materials. The records include specific locations and call numbers, and we add links to Internet copies when they are available.

Researchers may use the Advanced Search template and set the Limit to Location filter to U.S. Docs or Nebraska Docs to target items in the Government Documents collection. For example, click to view the results of these searches:

tobacco or smoking limited to U.S. Docs

Pakistan limited to U.S. Docs

aging and health limited to U.S. Docs

women and (work or labor) limited to U.S. Docs

roads or bridges limited to Nebraska Docs

Of course, one need not set the Limit to Location filter to enter any particular search. Unfiltered searches will retrieve records for any library materials (books, videos, etc.), and records for government documents will appear in the results as they are topically relevant. The library catalog permits one to search all of the library's collections or to target specific collections.

Researchers looking for historical materials may find it helpful to use the date filter to target items published during a certain period. For example, the women and (work or labor) search above can be filtered to publication dates after 1919 and before 1941:

women and (work or labor) limited to U.S. Docs after 1919 and before 1941

We have added many catalog records which link to government documents residing on the Internet. In many cases the library does not hold a physical copy, so these records have proven very useful, especially in cases where Internet search engines such as Google or Yahoo miss documents embedded in databases. One can set the Limit to Location filter to Internet to target such records:

Afghanistan limited to Internet

obesity and health limited to Internet

The Internet filter may also retrieve records for electronic books, such as those the library has purchased from NetLibrary and Safari TechBooks.

 
 

Overview

 

Since 1939, Criss Library has been a selective depository for documents distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office, and we joined the State of Nebraska depository library program in 1976. Our depository collections encompass some 600,000 printed items, microfiche, CD-ROMs and DVDs, and sheet maps.

The library's commitment to acquiring government publications has long extended beyond those available via the depository programs. Tabor College, founded in 1853 in Fremont County, Iowa, ran into serious financial problems and closed in 1927. After unsuccessfully trying to reopen in the 1930s, the college sold its library holdings, including a strong U.S. documents collection, to the University of Omaha. This purchase extended the chronological reach of our collection into the 19th century, and it continues to benefit researchers at UNO.

In the 1980s and 1990s, Criss Library augmented the depository collections by purchasing a number of microfiche archives and reprint editions. These acquisitions included a remarkably comprehensive U.S. Congressional archive, providing copies of practically every Congressional hearing it is possible for a library to have spanning 1830-1969. Historical census reports, some so dilapidated that they were beyond restoration, were replaced by high quality facsimiles.

In recent years, the library purchased access to commercial databases which provide convenient online access to government publications. The U.S. Congressional Serial Set and Hein Online combine to provide an outstanding collection of resources related to U.S. legislative history. Since 2005, the library has participated in Nebraska Public Documents, an ongoing digitization project, which aims to provide free Internet access to reports issued by Nebraska state agencies extending from 1890-1956.

Depository library programs have changed considerably over the past decade, with electronic distribution rapidly increasing while physical receipts decline. We once received about 15,000 U.S. documents each year, and we currently receive about 5,000. The Nebraska depository program discontinued physical distribution in 2005 and now relies entirely on electronic access. To help researchers identify electronic documents, we add records to the library catalog which describe and link to them.

This LibGuide describes the Government Documents Collection at Criss Library and provides advice to help researchers work with the collection.


 

Featured Documents

Did you know that Congress established the United States Institute of Peace to conduct research and to offer consultation services to assist with conflict resolution around the world? In recent years, USIP staff have worked in Afghanistan, the Balkans, Colombia, Iraq, Kashmir, Liberia, the Korean Peninsula, Nepal, Pakistan, the Palestinian Territories, Nigeria, Sudan, and Uganda. The Criss Library catalog contains almost 300 records describing USIP documents, and many include links to Internet copies.

Reports issued by the Strategic Studies Institute of the U.S. Army War College offer another perspective on peace and conflict, and the catalog includes records for over 250 such studies. You may be surprised at the ways in which the views of USIP staff and military researchers converge and diverge, given their seemingly distinctive missions.

As the current economic recession grew increasingly serious during the last half of 2008, reports of the Congressional Budget Office garnered more attention, and the library catalog can lead you to over 750 CBO studies of the United States economy and its prospects spanning over thirty years.

Whether or not you escaped the flu during its recent high season, you may find it interesting to note how much effort the U.S. government has put into preparing for major outbreaks. These fifty documents, recorded in the library catalog, may simultaneously prove heartening and frightening.

I plan to highlight notable documents in this space several times each year, and you are welcome to submit the comment form or send me a message to suggest topics or to inquire further.

 

The Guy Who Wrote This Guide

Profile ImageJim Shaw
Contact Info:
Director of Collections and
Government Documents Librarian
Dr. C.C. and Mabel L. Criss Library
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Send Email

Subjects:
Government Documents, Legal Resources, History, Political Science, Religious Studies, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

 

Federal Depository Libraries

 

The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), administered by the U.S. Government Printing Office, has distributed documents to libraries around the country since the early 19th century.  The fundamental rationale for the program rests with an idea proffered by James Madison in a letter written in 1822:

"A popular government without popular information, or means of acquiring it, is but a Prologue to a Farce or a Tragedy, or perhaps both.  Knowledge will forever govern ignorance, and a people who mean to be their own Governors must arm themselves with the power which knowledge gives."*

The widespread geographic distribution of government documents provides citizens with information about the workings of their government, and it also helps to insure the survival of documents over long periods of time.

Electronic distribution has proven a great benefit to public access, and Federal depository libraries continue to link people to government documents, whether physically in the library or via the Internet.  Librarians and staff with expertise in research using government documents continue to serve the country, as well as their particular communities.

*James Madison, Letter to W. T. Berry, Aug. 4, 1822, in Letters and Other Writings of James Madison (Philip R. Fendall, ed., Lippincott, 1865), vol. III, p. 276.

 

  • FDLP Logo
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait