LibGuides: Online Learning Resources Guide: Find Articles

Journal Articles via Library Databases

Below are links to databases UNO students search frequently, and which focus on peer-reviewed journal articles.

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive business databases on the market, offering the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. It includes in-depth coverage from thousands of publications, most of them in full-text. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. Includes articles from the Wall Street Journal (1984-current ) and the Financial Times (1996-current [30-day embargo]).
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides broad coverage of most academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, and in the scholarly and general periodical literature. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 9,000 of those titles.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Search over 6,000 news sources across the United States and over 2,500 from around the world. Time coverage extends back 35 years for some sources, and the database is updated every day. Archival files Include the Omaha World Herald back to 1885.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
The American Theological Library Association compiles the ATLA Religion Database, which contains articles published in over 230 research journals and periodicals in Religious Studies. In addition, the database indexes book chapters and book reviews, thus extending its comprehensive coverage of the literature.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 4,000 journals in all disciplines of business, including the Harvard Business Review (1922-current). Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for articles published in journals spanning several disciplines, emphasizing articles which address criminal justice. Topical coverage includes crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
This database offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and many unique sources that were never previously available, covering all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education--as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles are available from the IEEE publications that include transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings in subjects such as: electrical and electronics engineering, computer science, and information technology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The library's JSTOR account includes access to all fifteen Arts & Sciences Collections and the several topical collections such as Ireland, Life Sciences, Security Studies, and Sustainability. These encompass an archive of over 2,300 journals in classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, the history and study of art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920’s, containing over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. In Fall 2018, the database was enhanced to include the full text of articles published in 1,000 journals.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes full text articles from over 2,400 research journals across social science disciplines. Also includes working papers and doctoral dissertations.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Covers articles published in 1,400 periodicals in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, social work, business, political science, and law.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals provides access to article published in 1,200 research journals extending back to 1996.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista offers over 1 million statistics ranging across a myriad of social, economic, and market-related topics. Data may be exported in PPT, XLS, PDF, and PNG formats.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online offers articles published in over 2,100 research journals extending back to 1997.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the published decisions of the federal courts and the appellate courts of all 50 states. Also includes federal and state codes and regulations and articles published in over 700 law review journals.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles published in 1,500 research journals extending back to 1996.

Finding Full-Text Articles

View the image to see how to easily locate full-text articles in the library databases.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

ILL allows you to obtain items not owned by Criss Library, including books, articles, and microfilm. Some materials are more difficult to obtain due to lending restrictions determined by the lending library.

Most libraries will not lend entire journal or magazine issues, archival materials, or newspapers in print format. Popular fiction and recently published books are also difficult to obtain. Because textbooks are in high demand and hard to obtain, we will no longer be able to fill ILL requests for them. There are a number of online sites where you can borrow textbooks for an entire semester for a small fee.

ILL books take on average about 10 days to arrive. Articles usually arrive in less than a week, but typically take two to three days. Turnaround time depends on the material requested.

Rare items may take 6 to 12 weeks to obtain.
Most Document Delivery requests will be filled within 1 to 2 business days.
Books and other physical materials are available for checkout at the Circulation Desk. Article requests will be delivered to you electronically.
Both ILL and Document Delivery articles will remain uploaded to your account for 30 days.

Login to Interlibrary Loan
Create an ILL account
First time users start here.