Criss Library Catalog & Search TipsElectronic ResourcesGovernment DocumentsMicrofiche CollectionMicrofilm CollectionPrimary SourcesSpecial Collections
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Dual Enrollment  Tags: dual_enrollment  

UNO Criss Library
Last update: Nov 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unomaha.edu/dualenrollment  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Political Science             Print Page
  

Political Science

Academic Search Premier is the article database UNO students search most frequently. It lists and summarizes articles published in over 9,000 journals and magazines, and it includes article texts from over 6,000 of them. Academic Search Premier is often a good place to start, because the database is so large that one can typically find something about almost anything. However, Academic Search Premier sacrifices depth for its breadth, and it does not cover any particular field comprehensively. After searching in Academic Search Premier, be sure to explore more specialized databases.

Campus Research (Westlaw) provides convenient online access to the laws and regulations of the Federal government and all 50 states.  It also includes online copies of published Federal and state court decisions.  An extensive Law Reviews file offers articles published in over 700 journals dedicated to the study of law and public policy.  Westlaw recently added several hundred news sources, including broadcast transcripts, to the database.

Congressional Universe is a database available through Lexis-Nexis Academic.  It lists and summarizes documents created during Congressional deliberations, and it includes links to online texts spanning 1990 to the present.  Congressional Universe also indexes thousands of documents published as long ago as 1820, and Criss Library owns microfiche copies of almost all of them.

CQ Weekly is the online version of Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report, a news magazine devoted to reports about activity in Congress.  It enjoys a longstanding reputation for bipartisan balance, and it is especially helpful in presenting detailed overviews of legislation and legislative action.  The database also includes extensive voting records.

The Criss Library Catalog remains essential to identify the books owned by Criss Library, but it also contains records describing over 250,000 United States and State of Nebraska documents shelved in the library's Government Documents collection.  Many of the records for documents published after 2000 include links to PDF copies at government Internet sites.

Homeland Security Digital Library provides convenient access to Federal documents concerning terrorism and domestic efforts to prepare for terrorist attacks.  The database also includes documents compiled by state and local governments, which is helpful for monitoring activity throughout the country.

JSTOR is an online archive for academic research journal articles published from the mid-1800's to about 3 to 5 years ago.  As an archive, JSTOR does not include current journal volumes, but it remains an incredibly useful database for researching topics over long spans of time.

Lexis-Nexis Academic is the place to look for articles published in hundreds of newspapers and other news sources spanning 1980 to the present.  It includes the Omaha World Herald from August 1994 onward.

SAGE Full-Text Collection is a relatively small database, but it provides access to several thousand articles published in some of the most highly-respected journals in political science.  It also has the virtue of including complete runs of the journals going back several decades.

      
     

    What would you add to/delete from this page?

     

    Subject Specialist

    Profile ImageJim Shaw
    Contact Info:
    University of Nebraska
    Criss Library
    6001 Dodge Street
    Omaha, Nebraska 68182
    402.554.2225
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Political Science

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait