Criss Library Catalog & Search TipsElectronic ResourcesGovernment DocumentsMicrofiche CollectionMicrofilm CollectionPrimary SourcesSpecial Collections
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Dual Enrollment  Tags: dual_enrollment  

UNO Criss Library
Last update: Nov 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unomaha.edu/dualenrollment  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Special Collections             Print Page
  

Criss Library Special Collections

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

The University Library's Special Collections is an area set apart from the library's main collection in order to preserve and protect rare, valuable, and fragile items, as well as archival materials and

collections which, if separated, would lose their research value. Descriptions of the main

collections in Special Collections are listed below.

Special Collections is available BY APPOINTMENT, Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Because of their nature, Special Collections materials may by used only in the designated reading area, and may not be checked out. Photocopies may be made subject to the condition of the work in question, and copyright restrictions. To make an

appointment or to obtain additional information, call (402) 554-2362 or (402) 554-2884.

Omaha Federal Writer's Project (W.P.A.) Papers

This collection consists of hundreds of files of

information collected in the 1930's by the Omaha Federal Writer's Project of the Works Project

Administration. These files contain a wealth of

unpublished material on Omaha and the surrounding area, including research for the uncompleted Omaha City Guide, and valuable information on the history of local newspapers and ethnic groups.

Icarian Collection

The Icarian collection contains several hundred books formerly owned by a 19th Century utopian community based near Corning, Iowa. The collection consists of books published from the early 1700's to the late 1800's, most of them in French. The collection is of historical and sociological value to scholars of utopian studies and also includes documents, books, and

articles relating to the history of the Icarian

community.

 

OTHER COLLECTIONS

In addition to the collections described above, Special Collections houses a wide variety of materials in many subject area and formats, including Omaha and Nebraska history, pre-19th century books,

autographed books, rare first editions, the Mary Munchoff Music Collection, and the archives of the Omaha Theater Company for Young People (formerly the Emmy Gifford Children's Theater).

 

EXHIBITS

UNO’s Criss Library hosts special exhibits throughout the year. Please contact the library at 554-2661 to find out our current exhibit.

      
     

    Subject Guide

    Profile ImageJoyce Neujahr
    Contact Info:
    University of Nebraska
    Criss Library
    6001 Dodge Street
    Omaha, Nebraska 68182
    402.554.3214
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Biology, Geography, Geology, Psychology

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait