LibGuides: Social Work Research Guide: Home

Welcome

Image taken from https://www.flickr.com/photos/matthileo/4924751661

Welcome to the Social Work Research Guide! Use this guide to find articles, books from the catalog, help with citing sources, and other information specifically for students of Social Work.

If you have any questions or would like personal help doing your research, use the contact information in the "Contact me" box. One-on-one consultations are available for students, faculty, and staff either during regularly scheduled office hours by using the "Schedule Appointment" button or by contacting me directly if those times don't work.

Best Bets

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides broad coverage of most academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, and in the scholarly and general periodical literature. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 9,000 of those titles.

Microtraining Associates
Microtraining Associates provides mental health training materials designed to help support faculty teaching and also help students improve their clinical skills. Videos cover a wide range of subjects, clients and conditions, all with a focus on skill development and competency.

ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes full text articles from over 2,400 research journals across social science disciplines. Also includes working papers and doctoral dissertations.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Covers articles published in 1,400 periodicals in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, social work, business, political science, and law.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, and journal articles by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.
Social Work Online This link opens in a new window
Social Work Online is a first-of-its-kind resource that pairs recently published social work textbooks along with compelling documentaries clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners. The content is structured around twelve of the most important topics in the social work curriculum, most of which are applicable worldwide.

Get help

Email: use http://libanswers.unomaha.edu/

Call: 402.554.3206

Schedule: an appointment with a Subject Librarian