Skip to main content

First-Year Writing Library Instruction

Three-day Outcomes

Students should formulate a research question out of their topic before instruction week begins.

First instruction day

  1. Students will develop a list of keywords from their research question. (25 min) 

  2. Students will experiment with at least one database to test their list of keywords. (10 min) 

  3. Students will apply the day's lesson through individual work time. (10 min)

 

Second instruction day

  1. Students will recall previous lessons via a one-question quiz. (5 min)

  2. Students will experiment with the library catalog and a newspaper database to broaden or deepen their evidence pool. (25 min)

  3. Students will apply the day's lesson through individual work time. (20 min)

Students will vote on the lesson they want to complete on the final library day.
Students should continue to search in the databases and the catalog by the next class period.

 

Third instruction day

  1. Students will experiment with a statistical database to find statistical evidence. (15 min)

  2. Students will complete the activity voted on during the previous session. (30 min)

Two-day Outcomes

Students should formulate a research question out of their topic before instruction week begins.

First instruction day

  1. Students will develop a list of keywords from their research question. (25 min) 

  2. Students will experiment with at least one database to test their list of keywords. (10 min)

  3. Students will experiment with the library catalog to broaden or deepen their evidence pool. (15 min)

  4. Students will apply the day's lesson through individual work time. (20 min)

 

Students will vote on the lesson they want to complete on the final library day.
Students should continue to search in the databases and the catalog by the next class period.

 

Third instruction day

  1. Students will recall previous lessons via a one-question quiz. (5 min)

  2. Students will experiment with at least one news database to find popular evidence, and a statistical database to find statistical evidence. (20 min)

  3. Students will complete the activity voted on during the previous session. (30 min)

  4. Students will apply the day's lesson through individual work time. (20 min)