LibGuides: Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection: Related Resoures

Resources From Other Libraries and Repositories

Afghanistan Maps, University of Texas Libraries
The Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas Libraries holds a large collection of Afghanistan maps, which have been digitized and are available online.
Library of Congress - World Digital Library
Digital database includes maps, documents, and reports pertaining to Afghanistan
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digital collections from the Library of Congress including Afghanistan Web Archives.
Guide to Law Online: Afghanistan
This guide, prepared by the Law Library of Congress, includes links to free online resources regarding the country of Afghanistan, focusing on its constitution; executive, legislative and judicial branches; legal guides; and general sources.
Afghanistan: Images from the Harrison Forman Collection
Contain images that document the life and culture of Afghanistan in the 1950s and 1960s from the American Geographical Society Library at the University of Wisconsin--Milwaukee Libraries. The photographs portray the daily life of Afghanis, capture the beauty of the land, and document historic sites, including the great Buddhas of Bamiyan destroyed by the Taliban in 2001.
Louis and Nancy Hatch Dupree Foundation Afghanistan Centre at Kabul University
The Afghanistan Centre at Kabul University (ACKU) was established in 1989 as a central depository for information on Afghanistan. Since its inception, the center has collected more than 100,000 items, 40 per cent of which are in the local Afghan languages, Dari and Pashto. ACKU houses a large and unique collection of books, documents, and films related to Afghanistan's history and struggle for independence.
Afghanistan Digital Collections, University of Arizona Libraries and Afghanistan Center at Kabul University
The University of Arizona Libraries in partnership with the Afghanistan Centre at Kabul University is collaborating on Preserving and Creating Access to Afghanistan Literature from the Jihad Period, a project to catalog, digitize, and create metadata.
more...less...
Content includes:
Unique collection of documents related to Afghanistan history, culture, and its development during the Jihad period and more. ACKU’s permanent collection is the most extensive in the region covering a time of war and social upheaval in the country, with most of the documents in English or the principal languages of Pashto and Dari.

Two newspapers: Anis and Kabul Times are from the University of Arizona Professor Emeritus Ludwig W Adamec's collection, who has provided multiple important titles for digitization. He has written and edited numerous books, including the monumental Historical and political gazetteer of Afghanistan.

Afghanistan Kalanay Yearbook is from the University of Arizona Libraries' collection.
Afghanistan Digital Library, NYU Libraries
The immediate objective of the Afghanistan Digital Library is to retrieve and restore the first sixty years of Afghanistan’s published cultural heritage from the period 1871–1930.
more...less...
Phase 1 of the project, undertaken in 2005, has drawn materials from the collections of several private collectors as well as from the holdings of New York University Library and the British Library. Phase 2, undertaken in 2006, has trained a staff at the National Archives in Kabul in conservation and digitization and is engaged in the cataloging and digitization of materials held in various public and private collections inside Afghanistan. In time the project plans to carry the dissemination of Afghan publications through the period between 1931 and 1950. Providing universal availability to this broad historical span of Afghanistan’s published history, and in the process constructing a national bibliography for the country, the Afghanistan Digital Library will reconstruct an essential part of Afghanistan’s cultural heritage.

Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

Central Intelligence Agency on Flickr
The Central Intelligence Agency's (CIA) collection of photos on Flickr includes maps/cartography, artifacts of memorabilia from the CIA's collection, and photographs taken in Afghanistan.

Current Information

Afghanistan Online
Afghanistan Online is a privately owned, independent web site that provides updated news and information on Afghanistan. Originally known as the Qazi Webpage on Afghanistan, the title was changed to Afghanistan Online and launched on May 14, 1997.
more...less...
Today, thanks to our dedicated visitors, we have become the biggest, and most visited Afghan web site on the World Wide Web. We have won numerous awards and are a point of reference for many schools and organizations. We are dedicated to providing the most current, and reliable information on Afghanistan.
Afghan Online Press
Afghan Online Press provides updated daily news on Afghanistan. It is part of the larger Afghanistan Online website.
more...less...
Most of the news we post come from public domain sources (ex. VOA, Press TV, etc) or we have agreements/permissions from the authors/sources. For others, an external link is provided to read the article.
Afghanistan Research and Evaluation Unit
Congress.Gov
Congress.gov is the next generation of legislative information from the Library of Congress. It replaces THOMAS.
American Institute of Afghanistan Studies
A private, non-profit organization run by scholars with the aim of promoting and encouraging the systematic study of the culture, society, land, languages, health, peoples and history of Afghanistan. Established in 2003 at Duke University and moved to Boston University in 2006.

Related Criss Library Databases

Criss Library subscribes to many databases containing journal articles, newspapers, primary sources, government documents, and other material in dozens of subject areas. Some of these databases may be of use in your research. Note that licensed databases are only available to UNO users while non-UNO researchers may access subscription databases in the library. Do you have a question about Criss Library's licensed databases? Try Criss Library's Ask-A-Librarian service for assistance.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Search over 6,000 news sources across the United States and over 2,500 from around the world. Time coverage extends back 35 years for some sources, and the database is updated every day. Archival files Include the Omaha World Herald back to 1885.
Afghanistan in 1919: The Third Anglo-Afghan War This link opens in a new window
"Contains almost 2,000 images from the collections of the British Library."
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The library's JSTOR account includes access to all fifteen Arts & Sciences Collections and the several topical collections such as Ireland, Life Sciences, Security Studies, and Sustainability. These encompass an archive of over 2,300 journals in classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, the history and study of art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis, Nexis Uni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including decisions of the Federal courts and the appellate courts of all 50 states. (Also includes Zacks Equity Research.)

Contact Me

Amy Schindler

She, Her, Hers

Email Me

Contact:

She | Her | Hers
Dr. C.C. and Mabel L. Criss Library
University of Nebraska Omaha
6001 Dodge St.
Omaha, NE 68182-0237

402-554-6046

Subjects: Archives & Special Collections, Graduate Studies

Criss Library & U.S. Army, Human Terrain System Partnership

Criss Library began a collaborative partnership with the U.S Army Training and Doctrine Command, Human Terrain System (HTS), Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, in 2007. Key to the development of this partnership was the completion of a data-sharing project known as the Microfilm Digitization Project. Digitized documents are available through the library catalog and DigitalCommons@UNO. Digitized material includes over twenty years of the daily Kabul Times newspaper.