A rich heritage that needs to be documented Beginning in 1869, when the study of homosexuality can be said to have begun with the establishment of sexology, this encyclopedia offers accounts of the most important international developments in an area that now occupies a critical place in many fields of academic endeavors. It covers a long history and a dynamic and ever changing present, while opening up the academic profession to new scholarship and new ways of thinking. A groundbreaking new approach While gays and lesbians have shared many aspects of life, their histories and cultures developed in profoundly different ways. To reflect this crucial fact, the encyclopedia has been prepared in two separate volumes assuring that both histories receive full, unbiased attention and that a broad range of human experience is covered. Written for and by a wide range of people Intended as a reference for students and scholars in all fields, as well as for the general public, the encyclopedia is written in user-friendly language. At the same time it maintains a high level of scholarship that incorporates both passion and objectivity. It is written by some of the most famous names in the field, as well as new scholars, whose research continues to advance gender studies into the future.
The Encyclopedia of Women in Today′s World looks at women today and delves into contexts of being female in the 21st century. The scope of the Encyclopedia focuses on women′s status starting approximately in the year 2000 and going forward. From A-to-Z, this work will cover the spectrum of defining women in the contemporary world. Signed entries (with cross-references and recommended readings) cover the full range of issues in contemporary women′s studies, with volumes including information relevant to the following academic disciplinary contexts: arts and media; business and economics; criminal justice; education; family studies; health; media; military; politics; science and technology; sports; religion; and women in different cultures and countries.
This set has an ambitious scope with the goal of offering the most up-to-date international overview of key issues in the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals. HIV/AIDS has been a major media focus, but this set fosters a broader understanding of the status of LGBT individuals in their society. More than 70 countries are represented. The clear, accessible prose is appropriate for high school student research on up. The material is especially needed in a cultural climate that increasingly supports and requires information about LGBT populations. The content is useful for a paper on a hot topic, health classes, discussion groups, and gay-straight alliance groups.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Sex, Love, and Culture volumes cover the ancient world, the medieval era, the early modern period, the colonial and revolutionary age, the nineteenth century, and the modern world. Each volume is cross-cultural in scope and includes alphabetically arranged entries written by expert contributors. Entries cover such topics as customs and practices, authors and works, concepts and institutions, and various other subjects. Thus the Encyclopedia defines love and sexuality in terms of cultural contexts. The volumes are fully illustrated and cite numerous works for further reading. Students will value this set as a source of information about daily life around the world, while general readers will find it fascinating and insightful. Because the volumes are multicultural in scope, they invite an easy comparison of sex and love across different groups of people. The volumes are fully illustrated and cite works for further reading. Students will welcome this set as a guide to daily life around the world, while general readers will be fascinated by its wealth of information. Conveniently organized into volumes on particular periods. Includes numerous alphabetically arranged entries by expert contributors. Entries discuss authors, concepts, practices, major works, institutions, customs, and other topics. Fully illustrated. Cites works for further reading. Helps students appreciate cultural diversity. Helps students learn about daily life through a topic of popular interest. Supports the social studies curriculum by exploring the history and experiences of different peoples.
The topic feminist research has too often been neglected in standard research methods books. The Handbook of Feminist Research represents the establishment of a new tradition or paradigm in viewing how the research process is implemented. Feminist researchers bring unique epistemological and methodological perspectives to the research process. Feminists′ approach to methodology allows for `new′ types of questions about women′s lives and those of `other/ed′ marginalized groups to be addressed within their respective fields of research. This Handbook stresses the interconnections between epistemology, methodology and methods.They are not de-linked from each other but work together in dynamic ways to produce new knowledge and this openness itself is also characteristic of how feminist researchers approach their work. Feminists engage synergistically with all three aspects of the research process - epistemology, methodology and method. Through a synergistic connection between these elements of research: epistemology; methodology; and method, we find that feminist research often shapes new research endeavors that are greater than `the sum of their parts′. In other words, while traditional research employs these components of research, the synergistic engagement of these components in feminist research questions the status quo, aiming to raise our consciousness about how we do research. Looking at the selections provided in this Handbook we are able to look at feminist research, its implementation of synergistic use of epistemology, methodology and method, and the resulting qualities of feminist research in practice.
This Second Edition is an essential resource for librarians, scholars, and students. This succinct handbook includes more than 1,000 entries covering the persons, organizations, campaigns and court cases, goals and achievements, and current and future directions of the feminist movement, 75 percent of which are new and revised from the first edition. This second edition also features a more internationally focused introduction that provides an overview of the history and development of feminism as a movement and as a philosophy. Rounding out this new edition are an expanded chronology, and an updated bibliography that brings attention to many feminist online resources and periodicals, and emphasizes global and third-wave feminism, both new developments in the field since the publication of the first edition. Paying tribute to the struggles of the women, and men, who have worked to change and to improve the living conditions for women in the world, this book promises a comprehensive historical overview for readers of all interest levels.
The Routledge Handbook of Identity Studies offers an exceptionally clear overview of the analysis of identity in the social sciences, and in so doing seeks to develop a new agenda for identity-studies in the twenty-first century. The key theories of identity, ranging from classical accounts to postmodern, psychoanalytic and feminist approaches, are drawn together and critically appraised, and there are substantive sections looking at racial, ethnic, gendered, queer, consumerist, virtual and global identities. The Handbook also makes an essential contribution to the debate now opening up over identity-politics and its cultural consequences. From anti-globalization protestors to new ecological warriors, from devotees of therapy culture to defenders of international human rights: the culture of identity-politics is fast redefining the public political sphere. What future for politics is there after the turn to identity? Throughout there is a strong emphasis on interdisciplinarity with essays covering sociology, psychology, politics, cultural studies and history. The Handbook's clear and direct style will appeal to a wide undergraduate audience in the social sciences and humanities.
The Routledge Handbook of Language, Gender, and Sexuality provides an accessible and authoritative overview of this dynamic and growing area of research. Covering cutting-edge debates in eight parts, it is designed as a series of mini edited collections, enabling the reader, and particularly the novice reader, to discover new ways of approaching language, gender, and sexuality. With a distinctive focus both on methodologies and theoretical frameworks, the Handbook includes 40 state-of-the art chapters from international authorities. Each chapter provides a concise and critical discussion of a methodological approach, an empirical study to model the approach, a discussion of real-world applications, and further reading. Each section also contains a chapter by leading scholars in that area, positioning, through their own work and chapters in their part, current state-of-the-art and future directions. This volume is key reading for all engaged in the study and research of language, gender, and sexuality within English language, sociolinguistics, discourse studies, applied linguistics, and gender studies.
This handbook is written for transgender people, their families and friends; for professionals who in their day-to-day job may encounter transgender people; and for students, teachers, educators, academics, and members of the public at large with an interest in transgender people. This handbook gives an in-depth overview on a wide spectrum of issues encountered by transgender people, from childhood to later on in life. Key topics addressed include medical and surgical treatments, access to transgender health care, sexuality, mental health issues, fertility, education, and employment. This practical guide is written in a clear and concise manner by more than 40 international specialists in the field of transgender health and well-being. This essential text is extensively referenced and illustrated, and informs the reader on a broad range of important gender-affirming issues.
The second wave of feminism of Gloria Steinem and Betty Friedan has given way to the dynamic next generation, the third wave, now 15 years old. The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third Wave Feminism introduces the third wave's key issues, members, visions, writings, and more--with essay entries on abortion to zines, with the Riotgrrrl group Bikini Kill, cyberspace, National Girls and Women in Sports Day, queer theory, and activist/writer Rebecca Walker in between. The scope of the more than 200 encyclopedia entries is multidisciplinary and multicultural, inclusive of diverse gender orientations and sexualities, with a focus primarily on the movement in the United States. The Primary Documents volume showcases a wide variety of writings from some of the leading third wavers. This is meant to be the essential reference work on the current movement, as it charts, describes, and clarifies what has been a much debated and misunderstood phenomenon. The second wave of feminism of Gloria Steinem and Betty Friedan has given way to the dynamic next generation, the third wave, now 15 years old. The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third Wave Feminism introduces the third wave's key issues, members, visions, writings, and more--with essay entries on abortion to zines, with the Riotgrrrl group Bikini Kill, cyberspace, National Girls and Women in Sports Day, queer theory, and activist/writer Rebecca Walker in between. The scope of the more than 200 encyclopedia entries is multidisciplinary and multicultural, inclusive of diverse gender orientations and sexualities, with a focus primarily on the movement in the United States. This is meant to be the essential reference work on the current movement, as it charts, describes, and clarifies what has been a much debated and misunderstood phenomenon. A major collective effort has been made by more than 70 contributors to present as much information about third wave feminism as possible in the encyclopedia, and they have conveyed the freshness and excitement that often characterize work in the third wave. Contributors such as Amy Richards, Jennifer Baumgardner, and Lisa Jervis, are leading activist voices in the movement. Others, such as Rebecca Hurdis, Sarah Gamble, Rebecca Munford, Stacy Gillis, Gillian Howie, Alison Piepmeier, Rory Dicker, Deborah Siegel, Leslie Heywood, and Jennifer Drake, have been influential in academia. A chronology and historical introduction put the movement and the encyclopedia and primary documents into perspective. Numerous photos visualize the topics. A Selected Bibliography lists classic third-wave books, Web sites, and films. The Primary Documents volume showcases 77 of the rich and wide range of voices that have contributed to the significant body of third wave feminist work. Some highlights include illustrated pieces from the art activist collective the Guerilla Girls, articles from Bitch Magazine, and Joan Morgan's essay Hip-Hop Feminist, from her 1998 book When Chickenheads Come Home to Roost.