The massive amount of criminal justice information now available to the public makes it difficult to assess its authority and value. This work is a comprehensive guide to print, electronic, and online criminal justice resources and the information they contain. It is the first criminal justice guide to explain how to determine the authority of sources, a vital task in the information age.
For Criminal Justice and Criminology and Internet courses. Designed specifically to look at the Internet from a criminal justice perspective, this comprehensive book and its supporting website explore the myriad of resources available to the criminal justice professional and to criminologists via the World Wide Web. Its relevant discussions and special-interest sections offer both the criminal justice student and practicing professional a clear, accessible guide to using the Web as a learning resource.
This book describes and explains approaches to the evaluation and analysis of secondary data in criminological research. The book focuses on secondary data originating in surveys, information collected by organizations, and data sets available from archives. Although the techniques described are common to the social sciences, the examples and applications are specific to criminology and criminal justice.
Contains a reference handbook to issues involving the media and the American court system and explores how technological advances from cameras in the courtroom to internet news have created new areas of controversy.
This accessible text enables criminology and criminal justice students to understand and critically evaluate criminal law in the context of criminal justice and wider social issues. The book explains criminal law comprehensively, covering both general principles and specific types of criminal offences. It examines criminal law in its social context, as well as considering how it is used by the criminal justice processes and agencies which enforce it in practice.
Helps criminal justice student better understand con law issues as well as the complicated development of constitutional rights and law. This book covers search and seizure, arrest and civil rights as well as the judiciary, first amendment, due process and the judicial system.
White collar crime is a major focus of the U.S. Department of Justice. This text provides a structured, broad overview of white collar crime, including procedural and evidentiary issues. Covers specific offenses such as conspiracy; mail, wire, and bank fraud; securities fraud; obstruction of justice; bribery and extortion; the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO); and computer and tax crimes. Also discusses punishment and sanctions for white collar crimes.
Criminal Justice: Opposing Viewpoints is the leading source for libraries and classrooms in need of current-issue materials. The viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected sources and publications.
In the past thirty years America's prison population has skyrocketed to over 2.1 million prisoners with no evidence of slowing down. The contributors to this anthology explore the reasons behind the exploding prison population, whether prisons are a successful deterrent to crime, and the various alternatives to imprisonment - drug courts, mental health courts, electronic monitoring, family-based therapies, and restorative justice - that are currently available.
Every year the U.S. budgets millions of dollars for the war on drugs but there is no consensus on whether the fight to combat illegal drug use is a success or a failure. Chapters in this all-new anthology include: Is the War on Drugs Succeeding? Is Three a Link Between the War on Drugs and Terrorism? Which Policies Are Working in the War on Drugs? Should Illegal Drugs Be Legalized?
Providing a vigilant reminder that the criminal justice system is not a value-neutral system that operates without regard to ethnicity or race, this book contains critical analyses of aspects of the criminal justice system with regard to African Americans.
This anthology provides a comprehensive overview of the ways in which women affect and are affected by crime and the criminal justice system. Analysis is grounded in feminist scholarship and activism, and anchored in perspectives that orient women's crime, imprisonment, victimization, and survival in a race, class, and gender perspective.
The economically deprived come into contact with the criminal court system in disproportionate number. This collection of original, interactive essays, written from a variety of ideological perspectives, explores some of the more troubling questions and ethical dilemmas inherent in this situation.
Capital Punishment examines the debate around the death penalty, raising questions and attempting to provide an even-handed examination of this controversial practice. The authors combine analysis of important issues with excerpts from landmark legal decisions, important documents, survey results, and empirical data.
The Third Edition of The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice in hardback is an ideal reference volume for libraries, agencies, and offices that serve those who need ready access to criminal justice information. Like any good dictionary, this resource will assist practioners as well as students in writing reports and papers and understanding terminology in journal articles. Over 5,000 terms, concepts, and names are included in the new edition, as well as over 125 new U.S. Supreme Court cases.
This two-volume set is designed to serve as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary criminological theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in a context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. The work provides essays on cutting-edge research as well as concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures. Topics include contexts and concepts in criminological theory, the social construction of crime, policy implications of theory, diversity and intercultural contexts, conflict theory, rational choice theories, conservative criminology, feminist theory, and more.
The encyclopedia of crime & justice not only discusses many different kinds of crime--from perjury to terrorism--but also looks at law enforcement, legal procedures and penalties and the social causes and wide-ranging impact of crimes on society. The articles reflect issues dominating the news and entertainment media--topics that are frequently discussed or assigned in both high school and college curricula. What is perjury? How do copyright laws pertain to the Internet? Can a juvenile be tried as an adult for murder? In 250 A-Z entries, these interdisciplinary articles deal with the sociology, psychology, history and economics of crime.
This comprehensive reference book is the first single volume of its kind to include key terms from criminal justice, criminology and criminal law; and provide complete definitions for this all-important terminology. Definitions are easy for readers to understand, and many terms are defined with references to case law. For professionals and anyone interested in the fields of criminal justice, criminology, or criminal law.
Authoritative and comprehensive, this multivolume set includes hundreds of articles in the field of criminal justice. Impressive arrays of authors have contributed to this resource, addressing such diverse topics as racial profiling, money laundering, torture, prisoner literature, the KGB, and Sing Sing.
This encyclopedia provides straightforward and comprehensive information on the role of DNA in the American courts. Numerous entries explain the relationship of forensic DNA analysis to microbiology, population genetics, statistics, and the legal rules of the admissibility of scientific evidence.
An inter-disciplinary survey of crime and violence in America with historical perspective, but primary entry emphasis focused on the 20th century. Addressing specifically the period from 1960 to the present, this reference also projects into the 21st century with contemporary terminology covering aspects of violent crime, DNA evidence, terrorism, riots, gangs, guns and gun control, AIDS, drug and drug related crime, and corporate and political crime.
In this comprehensive handbook, an examination of the complexities of contemporary evaluation contributes to the ongoing dialogue that arises in professional efforts to evaluate people-related programs, policies, and practices.
The Criminal Justice Student Writer's Manual, Fifth Edition is designed to help students learn how to research and write in criminal justice and improve their writing skills. Taking a comprehensive approach, it discusses the writing process, the mechanics of writing, the importance of research and how to cite sources.
This convenient, information-packed guide is designed specifically to meet the needs of anyone considering a career in criminal justice. It brings together information from the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) on the "full spectrum" of criminal justice and public safety occupations.
Criminal Justice Internships: Theory Into Practice guides the student, instructor, and internship site supervisor through the entire internship process, offering advice and information for use at the internship site as well as pre-planning and assessment activities. Students learn basics such as choosing an internship site at either a public agency or a private firm, résumé writing techniques, interviewing skills, and the importance of setting and developing goals and assessing progress. It also serves as a reference tool for professors and supervisory personnel who assist and supervise the student during the experience.
An invaluable resource for both readers planning to enter the criminal justice field and for those already working in the field looking for professional development, job change, or promotional advancement. Written by seasoned professionals, this book provides all the key information you need, from identifying the right criminal justice career path for you, to successful job-search strategies, to how to succeed and advance once you are working in the criminal justice field.