Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Learn About the Library

Introduction to library resources for students.

Welcome to your library!

Criss Library is located on Dodge Campus. Use this page to learn more about the spaces that the library has for students. 

Archives and Special Collections

Image of four people looking at archival materials in UNO Archives & Special Collections Reading Room.

Archives and Special Collections acquires and preserves unique, rare, and specialized materials. The collections are available for the university community and general public to use in Criss Library and online. Whether working on a paper for a class, producing a film, researching a local history project, writing a book, or undertaking another creative project, UNO Libraries' Archives and Special Collections has the historical materials and expertise required.

  • Archive and Special Collections hours are Monday-Friday, 8AM-5PM.
  • Appointments are not required, but may be requested in advance.
  • If you have questions about Archives and Special Collections, email unoasc@unomaha.edu or call 402.554.6046.

Creative Production Lab

Image of the entrance of the Creative Production lab on Criss Library's main floor.

The Creative Production Lab (CPL) is a place where you can work with video, audio, photography, design, and 3D modeling. The lab is open to UNO students, faculty and staff and is located on the main floor of the library. 

The following equipment is available for reservation:

  • 3D printers
  • laser cutter
  • green screen 
  • video recording equipment
  • full audio recording lab
  • large format printers
  • top-of-the-line computers

If you have questions about the CPL or would like assistance with software or creative projects, email the CPL at unolibrarycpl@unomaha.edu.

Study Rooms

The library has single and group study rooms that students can reserve for up to 3 hours daily. 

Single Study Rooms

Available on First and Main floors, Criss Library has 14 state-of-the-art study rooms available to the UNO students, faculty and staff for quiet, individual study or VHS/DVD viewing. All rooms have a desk, chair, whiteboard, and network connection. 

Group Study Rooms

Available on First and Main floors, Criss Library has 15 state-of-the-art  group study rooms available to the UNO students, faculty and staff for group study and meeting purposes. All rooms have media players and software, computers, projection screens, and whiteboards. Rooms may be reserved for up to three hours.

Food, Drink, & Noise Policies

Food and Drink in the library

  • Food and drink are allowed everywhere in the library.
  • The Library Cafe is located on the main floor. Food, drinks, and Starbucks beverages are available for purchase.
  • Vending machines and a microwave are located on the lower floor.

Noise in the Library

  • Talking to others and talking on the phone is permitted on the main and lower floor. 
  • The top floor of the library is a quiet floor. There is no talking allowed and cell phones must be silenced.