Skip to main content

International Relations Research Guide

Use this guide to find UNO library resources and other helpful research tools.

U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets

                    

The U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets  compiled by the U.S. Department of State provide a convenient country-by-country summary of current relations, and they also provide many links to additional sources of information.

The World Factbook

                   

Published annually since 1981 by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, The World Factbook "provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."  The World Factbook serves as a standard reference work, and information found at many websites sources back to it.

Criss Library also has paper copies of the The World Factbook shelved in the U.S. Documents collection at the call number PREX 3.15:.  The most recently published edition is shelved at the 1st Floor Service Desk at the call number G123 .U56.

U.S. Senate. Committee on Foreign Relations

The Criss Library catalog contains records describing almost 3,000 hearing transcripts and reports issued by the U.S. Senate Committee of Foreign Relations.  Almost all of the documents issued after 1999 are also available online.

U.S. House of Representatives. Committee on Foreign Affairs

The Criss Library catalog and view records describing over 3,700 hearing transcripts and reports issued by the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Foreign Affairs.  Almost all the documents issued after 1999 are also available online. 

Foreign Relations of the United States

          

Criss Library holds an extensive collection of the Foreign Relations of the United States, the primary published archive of diplomatic correspondence and reports.  The volumes are shelved in the Government Documents collection at the call number S 1.1:.  Researchers should note that diplomatic documents are embargoed for at least thirty years, and the most recent volumes have yet to enter the 1980s.

The University of Wisconsin has scanned volumes extending from 1861-1960, and the U.S. Department of State has posted volumes extending from 1945 at its website.

ProQuest Congressional

ProQuest Congressional now includes PDF copies of historical Congressional publications previously available only in the microfiche and microfilm collections.  These include published hearings extending back to the 23rd Congress (1833-1834) and unpublished hearings extending back to the 18th Congress (1823-1824).  In addition, ProQuest Congressional has added PDF copies of Executive department and agency publications which were not included within the Congressional Serial Set from 1789-1932.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980

The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 contains over 300,000 scanned and searchable publications issued by Congress, chiefly committee reports and documents.  During the 19th and early 20th centuries, the Serial Set also included many publications issued by the Executive departments, such as annual reports of the War Department.  The Serial Set database also includes the American State Papers, 1789-1838, a compilation of both Congressional and Executive documents.

HeinOnline

HeinOnline provides a fully-searchable, image-based archive of historical United States legal documents, including the Congressional Record (1873- ) and its predecessor series, the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873).  HeinOnline also includes the United States Statutes at Large, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and decisions of the United States Supreme Court.