LibGuides: Finance, Banking, and Real Estate Research Guide: Consumers/Markets

Market Research Databases

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista offers over 1 million statistics ranging across a myriad of social, economic, and market-related topics. Data may be exported in PPT, XLS, PDF, and PNG formats.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of market research reports focused on consumer products and services, including an extensive international collection.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information & abstracts from more than 1,400 periodicals in psychology and psychological aspects, including consumer behavior.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history.

Survey of Consumer Finances
Product of the Federal Reserve and contains information on the financial and demographic characteristics of U.S. families.
Business.gov Market Research
Guide from the Small Business Administration that walks you through the market research process and includes links to government data sources.
American Customer Satisfaction Index
Independent measure of household consumption experience. The ACSI tracks trends in customer satisfaction and provides benchmarking insights of the consumer economy for companies, industry associations, and government agencies. Some data is available for free, while other parts of the site require a subscription.
Pew Research Center
Surveys and reports on the attitudes, opinions, and lifestyles of Americans. Including the Pew Internet and American Life Project, Pew Global Attitudes Project, and Social & Demographic Trends.
Experian Marketing Research Reports
Free reports on marketing and consumer behaviors.
NielsenWire
Reports and data on market shares, consumer lifestyles and media trends.
Consumer Price Index (CPI)
From the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. Reports price paid for a representative sample of goods and services (inflation).
Personal Consumption Expenditures (PCE)
From the U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis. Reports consumer spending for entire U.S. Population

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Beginning with 2013, ProQuest has published this annual compilation of statistics compiled by both government and private sources. Tables may be downloaded in both PDF and Excel formats.

American Time Use Survey
Measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work; childcare; volunteering; and socializing
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.

ReferenceUSA This link opens in a new window
Use the Consumer / Lifestyle database for market research, and to understand the buying habits of groups of consumers.

Federal Trade Commission: Consumer Information
Links to publications with advice on avoiding scams and rip-offs, as well as tips on other consumer topics, and a consumer complaint form.