With half of the world's population residents in them, cities dominate how our economies are spatially structured and restructured, and how social life is experienced. Under conditions of accelerating globalization, cities are the principal intermediaries through which economic growth is sustained and have long been the primary loci through which political control is maintained. Taking a holistic viewpoint, the Handbook of Urban Studies provides a comprehensive appreciation of urban structure and change, and of the theories by which we understand the structure, development, and changing character of cities. Leading authors identify and analyze key issues, within the following sections: -Identifying the City -The City as Environment -The City as People -The City as Economy -The City as Organized Polity -Power and Policy Discourses in Postmodern Cities -Cities in Transition A comprehensive overview of the urban condition, this Handbook will appeal to a wide readership, from academics to researchers and policy-makers. As a theoretically and empirically informed account embracing the different disciplines contributing to urban studies, this book forms a unique and indispensable resource for professionals and researchers in urban studies, urban and town planning, social and cultural geography and public administration, as well as for all those concerned with the role of the city and urbanization in the disciplines of politics, sociology and economics.
The birds, animals, insects, trees and plants encountered by the majority of the world's people are those that survive in, adapt to, or are introduced to, urban areas. Some of these organisms give great pleasure; others invade, colonise and occupy neglected and hidden areas such as derelict land and sewers. Urban areas have a high biodiversity and nature within cities provides many ecosystem services including cooling the urban area, reducing urban flood risk, filtering pollutants, supplying food, and providing accessible recreation. Yet, protecting urban nature faces competition from other urban land uses. The Handbook of Urban Ecology analyses this biodiversity and complexity and provides the science to guide policy and management to make cities more attractive, more enjoyable, and better for our own health and that of the planet. This Handbook contains 50 interdisciplinary contributions from leading academics and practitioners from across the world to provide an in-depth coverage of the main elements of practical urban ecology. It is divided into six parts, dealing with the philosophies, concepts and history of urban ecology; followed by consideration of the biophysical character of the urban environment and the diverse habitats found within it. It then examines human relationships with urban nature, the health, economic and environmental benefits of urban ecology before discussing the methods used in urban ecology and ways of putting the science into practice. The Handbook offers a state-of the art guide to the science, practice and value of urban ecology. The engaging contributions provide students and practitioners with the wealth of interdisciplinary information needed to manage the biota and green landscapes in urban areas.