LibGuides: Health and Kinesiology Research Guide: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Health and Kinesiology Research Guide. This guide will help you identify important resources available through Criss Library including databases, books, e-books, and research and citation help.

It offers assistance for searching within the databases, reading a scholarly journal, and evaluating your sources. Research help tips and citation help are also available.

If you need help, please use the "Schedule an Appointment" option to set up a research consultation or "Email" to ask a question.

Research Best Bets

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health information
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Health and medical information from over 560 journals and magazines plus several thousand reference books.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
This database covers subject areas related to physical education such as physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, coaching and training, sport sociology/psychology, health education, and physical therapy. Formerly known as "Physical Education Index."
Education Source This link opens in a new window
This database offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and many unique sources that were never previously available, covering all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education--as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

BioMed Central
Open access journals

3D Body Atlas

Visible Body Atlas This link opens in a new window
Visible Body®'s 3D anatomical models of the human body make learning and teaching anatomy and physiology visual and engaging. Functionality that allows you to rotate, zoom in/out, pan, hide, and add structures to see the anatomy from any angle. Customize and save views. Dozens of quizzes to test your knowledge.
Visible Body Muscle Premium This link opens in a new window
600+ muscles, 200+ bones, peripheral nerves, and ligaments all rendered in interactive 3D, as well as dozens of interactive muscle action animations. Functionality that allows you to rotate, zoom in/out, pan, hide, and add structures to see the anatomy from any angle. Customize and save views. Dozens of quizzes to test your knowledge.
Visible Body Skeleton Premium This link opens in a new window
800+ bony landmarks detailed on 3D bone models, that can be rotated, zoomed, customized, and saved to, a personal library, 3D models of bone tissue, moving 3D models of synovial joints, and animations and illustrations that review pathologies andregional anatomy, a quiz bank with 500+ questions, bone, pronunciations, and more.

Other Helpful Guides

Subject Guide

Monica Maher

she/her

Contact:

mnmaher@unomaha.edu
Criss Library

Subjects: Education, Graduate Studies, Health and Fitness, Library Science, Psychology

Health and Kinesiology Research Guide

Welcome

Research Best Bets

3D Body Atlas

Other Helpful Guides

Subject Guide

Library Workshops