Skip to main content

Primary Source Databases

Historical primary sources spanning six centuries in Criss Library databases

America's Historical Imprints

America's Historical Imprints contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America during the 17th and 18th centuries.  The collection is based on Charles Evans' 14-volume American Bibliography: 1639-1820 (shelved on the 1st Floor at Reference Z1215 .E92), and it also contains additional works discovered at the American Antiquarian Society and the Library Company of Philadelphia.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926

"Sabin Americana, 1500–1926, offers an up-close perspective on life in the Americas, encompassing the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late 15th century to the first decades of the 20th century.... The digital collection highlights the society, politics, religious beliefs, customs and momentous events of the time. Users will have quick access to books, pamphlets, broadsides and documents from an assortment of genres – from sermons and political tracts to legislation and literature.”

Early English Books Online

Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Full-text database containing significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online

Contains primary source documents, including: books and monographs, newspapers and periodicals, diaries and personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, sheet music, and more.