Primary Source Databases Research Guide

Fully scanned and searchable database of works described in Charles Evans' "American Bibliography, 1639-1820" plus additional works held by the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society.

"Covering a span of 400 years, this easy-to-use digital collection highlights the society, politics, religious beliefs, customs and momentous events of the time...." Almost 38,000 titles encompass more than 10,000,000 pages.

Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

The Making of the Modern World is an extraordinary series which covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. In addition, the archive offers resources on the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy. It features essential texts covering the function of financial institutions, the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century, and the connection between the democratic goals of revolutionaries and their legal aspirations.

The University of Nebraska's account includes access to Parts 1 and 2, spanning 1450-1914

Full-text database containing significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

Contains primary source documents, including: books and monographs, newspapers and periodicals, diaries and personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, sheet music, and more.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community.

The Wiley Digital Archive for the New York Academy of Sciences spans over 200 years and encompasses the records one of the oldest scientific organizations in the United States, Throughout its history, the Academy's membership has featured thinkers and innovators from all walks of life, including U.S. Presidents Jefferson and Monroe, Thomas Edison, Charles Darwin, Margaret Mead, and many more.

Political Extremism and Radicalism in the Twentieth Century is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. It has been sourced from distinguished libraries and archives across the world but also premiers some previously hidden treasure troves.

Extending back to the 1840's, the Wiley Digital Archive for the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland encompasses the records of the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology (the study of humankind) in its broadest and most inclusive sense.