Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Primary Source Databases Research Guide

Use this guide to find UNO library resources and other helpful research tools.

Indigenous Peoples: North America

Indigenous Peoples: North America incorporates collections from Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century. Participating collections and institutions include:

  • The Alaska Indian Language Collection (Gonzaga University)
  • The Association on American Indian Archives (AAIA and Princeton University)
  • Citizenship Case Files of the U.S. Court in Indian Territory, 1896‐1897 (U.S. National Archives)
  • Great Nemaha Agency Collection, 1866‐1873 (Wichita State University)
  • The Indian School Journal (Chilocco Indian School)
  • The Javitch Collection (University of Alberta)
  • Letters Sent by the Indian Division of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior, 1849‐1903 (U.S. National Archives)
  • Moravian Mission among the Indians of North America (Moravian Archives)
  • The Pacific Northwest Tribes Missions Collection of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus, 1853‐1960 (Gonzaga University)
  • Papers of Henry Rowe Schoolcraft (Library of Congress)
  • The Papers of the Society of American Indians, 1906‐1946 (Private Collection of John Larner)
  • Records of the Creek Factory of the Office of Indian Trade of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1795‐1821 (U.S. National Archives)
  • W. S. Prettyman Photograph Collection (Wichita State University)

American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971

American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 brings together many thousands of documents housed at the U.S. National Archives and the Chicago History Museum, most previously available only in microfilm collections or in paper files at the holding institution:

  • American Indians and the U.S. Army
  • American West: Overland Journeys, 1841-1880
  • Apache Campaign of 1866
  • Frontier Army Life, 1861-1898
  • Indian Removal to the West, 1832-1840
  • Lake Mohonk Conference of Friends of the Indian, 1883-1916
  • Letters Received by the Attorney General, 1809-1884: Western Law and Order
  • Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes, 1914-1971
  • Native Americans and the New Deal, 1933-1945
  • Native Americans Reference Collection: Documents Collected by the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1840-1948
  • Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1907-1939
  • Records of the Indian Division, Office of the Secretary of the Interior, 1848-1907
  • Reports of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes, 1893-1920
  • Survey of Conditions of the Indians of the United States, 1928-1943
  • Survey of Indian Reservations in South Dakota, 1935

American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries’ Letters, 1833-1893

The Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters  contains over 40,000 pages of correspondence spanning 1833 to 1893.  A detailed guide to the collection is available from the National Archives of the Presbyterian Church (USA).