Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Primary Source Databases Research Guide

Use this guide to find UNO library resources and other helpful research tools.

UNO Gateway and the YELLow Sheet

The UNO Gateway student newspaper extending back to 1922 was scanned and posted online during UNO's centennial year, 2008-2009.  (Yes, you can clearly see that parking has long been a concern at UNO.)

Omaha World Herald: Historical Archive, 1885-1983; and current file, 1983-

The Omaha World Herald Historical Archive, 1885-1983, includes scanned and searchable images of the newspaper. You may also select issues to view page-by-page.  The Omaha World Herald, 1983- current file is updated daily and provides searchable article texts. Beginning in September 2018, a new file containing daily images of issues, pages, and articles became available. Production of microfilm for the Omaha World Herald ceased after December 2018, and the current image file replaced it.

Omaha Star Historical Archive, 1938-2011; and current file, 2011-

The Omaha Star Historical Archive, 1938-2011, includes scanned and searchable images of the newspaper. You may also select issues to view page-by-page. The Omaha Star, 2011- current file is updated daily and provides searchable article texts.

Omaha Daily Herald, 1866-1879 and Omaha Daily Republican, 1866-1880

Search and view scanned copies of the Omaha Daily Herald (1866-1879) and the Omaha Daily Republican (1866-1880). These two shorter-run historical Nebraska newpapers are part of a special collection created by Newsbank.

Kearney Hub

The Kearney Hub newspaper, scanned and searchable, from June 1889 - December 1957.

Nebraska Newspapers (UNL and NSHS)

Nebraska newspapers in Access World News

Early American Newspapers

19th Century American Newspapers

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

The New York Times Online for UNO

The Wall Street Journal, 1889-

The Wall Street Journal archive database extends back to 1889. It runs 15 years behind with another year scheduled to be added annually.  Researchers interested in articles from the most recent 15 years may search in the ABI-Inform Global database, which extends back to 1984 and is updated daily.

British Newspapers, 17th - 19th Centuries

The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

19th Century British Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-

Wikipedia's list of online newspaper archives