LibGuides: U.S. Senator Chuck Hagel Archives: Home

Archives & Special Collections Home

Archives & Special Collections Home
Visit this page to learn about our collecting areas, current exhibits, and special programs.
Using the Collection
Visit this page to learn about finding material in Archives & Special Collections, browsing topical research guides, and preparing for your visit.

U.S. Senator Chuck Hagel Archives Overview

The U.S. Senator Chuck Hagel Archives contains approx. 800 cubic feet of paper and photos, misc. digital records, and hundreds of artifacts, digital video and audio files. The fourteen series listed on this page are available for use as of 2022. Issue mail, clippings, and misc. digital records are currently being arranged and described by archivists and students and will become available following their work.

These papers reflect the complex relationship between individuals and state and federal governments. Issues of regional and national importance play out in the interactions among branches of government, within and across party lines in the Senate, and in the Senator’s representation of constituents. Hagel served on several committees addressing domestic and international issues, though his papers cover almost every issue that arose in legislation or in Nebraska. Significant events during his service include impeachment proceedings, the contested 2000 presidential election, September 11, U.S. involvement in two wars, and economic challenges.

Newspaper articles, government documents, 400+ books (available in Archives & Special Collections), and other related material may be found searching the UNO Libraries catalog.

On October 8, 2008, at the kick-off of UNO's centennial celebration, Chancellor John Christensen announced that U.S. Senator Chuck Hagel would donate his papers and artifacts to his alma mater. 1700 boxes of paper and photos, hundreds of VHS and artifacts, and 400+ books arrived from his D.C. and Nebraska offices arrived in December and the work of arrangement and description began.

Using the Hagel Archives

Browse and search finding aids for the following series in the U.S. Senator Chuck Hagel Archives.

U.S. Senator Chuck Hagel Archives Digitized Material
Digitized material includes selected full text speeches and talking points from Senator Chuck Hagel, as well as a sampling of material from the rest of the Hagel Archives.
Administrative Files
Administrative files concern the running of Hagel's Nebraska and D.C. senate offices and includes tracking opinion on legislative topics, managing non-legislative correspondence, maintaining a letter library for responding to inquiries, and keeping track of Hagel's awards, board service, and other commitments.
Artifacts
Artifacts include hundreds of framed photographs and cartoons; items from Hagel's offices and family life; and awards, gifts, and other memorabilia from his years in the U.S. Senate and Department of Defense.
Audio Files
Audio Files consist of digital files of Hagel's weekly conference calls with Nebraska media, speeches, press conferences, radio interviews, radio campaign ads, and misc.
Campaign Records
Campaign Records include Hagel's campaigns for U.S. Senate in 1996 and 2002, his work on behalf of other candidates, and his involvement with the national and Nebraska Republican parties.
Grant Files
Grant Files follow the work of Hagel's office in helping Nebraskans locate, obtain, and celebrate grants.
Legislative Files - Topical
Legislative Files cover topics of interest, federal legislation, and local, national, and international events from 1997 to 2009. Significant topics include the Clinton impeachment proceedings in 1998-1999, a contested presidential election in 2000, the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, the economic downtown of 2007-2009, and disaster and drought assistance for Nebraska.
Legislative Files - Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs
Files cover Hagel's twelve years on the committee and include including financial markets post-9/11, financial crisis of 2008, terrorism financing, financial reconstruction of Iraq, housing programs, and urban transit. Official committee records are at the Center for Legislative Archives, National Archives and Records Administration.
Legislative Files - Senate Committee on Foreign Relations
Files cover Hagel's twelve years on the committee and include nomination hearings for diplomatic officials, treaty considerations, background files on nations, and hearings and meetings on dozens of topics from foreign aid to sanctions to Iraq and Afghanistan. Official committee records are at the Center for Legislative Archives, National Archives and Records Administration.
Personal Papers
Personal Papers cover Hagel's life before, after, and outside his official duties in the U.S. Senate and U.S. Department of Defense, 1946-2015. They include his service in the U.S. Army, correspondence, family, board positions, memberships, etc.
Photographs
Photographs contains photographs, negatives, scrapbooks, and images on CDs from Hagel's childhood, the U.S. Senate, and the Department of Defense.
Press, Media and Speeches
Press, Media and Speeches include press and media material produced by Hagel's U.S. Senate office, along with his speech texts and related material.
Schedules
Schedules bring us into Hagel's busy days as a U.S. senator and include his meetings (with colleagues, staff, constituents, lobbyists, etc.), events, Nebraska trips, international travel, and personal life. Schedules are a hidden gem.
Travel Files
Travel Files cover Hagel's international trips while in the U.S. Senate and include schedules, briefing and speaking materials, and logistical information.
Video Files
Videos consist of digital files of Hagel's media appearances, campaign ads, Senate floor speeches, community and private events, and misc.

Contact me

Lori Schwartz

she | her | hers

Email Me

Contact:

Archives & Special Collections
Dr. C.C. and Mabel L. 105D Criss Library
University of Nebraska Omaha
6001 Dodge St.
Omaha, NE 68182-0237

402-554-2496

Subjects: Graduate Studies

Support the Hagel Archives

U.S. Senator Chuck Hagel Archives Fund
You may support access to and preservation of the legacy of Secretary Chuck Hagel by the UNO Libraries Archives & Special Collections with a designated gift to this fund from the University of Nebraska Foundation.

To learn more or discuss your gift, contact Amy Schindler, Director of Archives & Special Collections (acschindler@unomaha.edu, 402-554-6046). Thank you for your support.