LibGuides: Public Administration Research Guide: Government Documents

Government Documents at Criss Library

Government Documents Research Guide
Criss Library holds an extensive collection of documents issued by the U.S. government and the State of Nebraska. Many of the documents arrived as depository copies distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office and the Nebraska Library Commission. Click the link above to connect to the Government Documents research guide, which describes the library's collections in detail.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Congressional provides PDF copies of historical Congressional publications previously available only in the library's microfiche and microfilm collections. These include published hearings extending back to the 23rd Congress (1833-1834) and unpublished hearings extending back to the 18th Congress (1823-1824). In addition, ProQuest Congressional includes PDF copies of Executive department and agency publications which were not included within the Congressional Serial Set from 1789-1932.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline provides a fully-searchable, image-based archive of historical United States legal documents, including the Congressional Record and its predecessor series, the United States Statutes at Large, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and decisions of the United States Supreme Court.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set With American State Papers This link opens in a new window
The first volume of the Congressional Serial Set was issued in 1817 after Congress authorized the distribution of documents to a number of libraries and archives. The series continues to this day, with over 15,000 volumes published. The Congressional Serial Set is the primary source for published committee records, and during the 19th and early 20th centuries it also served as an archive of reports issued by Executive departments and agencies. The database covers the Congressional Serial Set from 1817-1980, encompassing over 350,000 documents and 10,500,000 pages.

The American Presidency Project
One of the largest online collections of documents about the American presidents, this site compiles data from over 100,000 presidential documents and includes full text searching of presidential media events such as speeches, debates, and State of the Union addresses.