Public Administration Research Guide

The Dictionary of Public Policy and Administration offers definitions of all the key terms, concepts, processes and practices of contemporary public policy and administration. Included are brief biographies of major scholars and influential practitioners, summaries of major rulings by the U.S. Supreme Court, overviews of significant laws, descriptions of important government agencies, and explanations of historical trends and governing doctrines. The Dictionary is designed to be the single most useful tool that a student or practitioner of public administration could have--the book to keep at their side while they are reading other textbooks in the field.

This two volume set on Governance provides a one-stop point of reference for the diverse and complex topics surrounding governance for the period between the collapse of the post-war consensus and the rise of neoliberal regimes in the 1970s. This comprehensive resource concentrates primarily on topics related to the changing nature and role of national governments in recent times and the ways in which their roles have been conceptualized in the areas of political science, public administration, political economy and sociology. Key features include: - an examination the changes in national governments associated with the transfer of powers, rights and functions to organizations within the private sector and with the rise of new types of regional and international linkages and problems therein; - an exploration of how national governments have become both increasingly dependent on organizations inthe private sector and increasingly constrained by international linkages. The Encyclopedia of Governance avoids the jargon that characterizes most of the writing in this field and translates the common language used into a more familiar and commonsense vocabulary, so as to make it intelligible to the broadest possible audience. This collection is an essential purchase for all reference libraries around the world.

From the Nuremberg trials to the Civil Service Reform Act of 1978 to recent budget reconciliation bills, the Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy, Second Editionreaches still further across the globe to provide detailed coverage of watershed policies and decisions from such fields as privatization, biomedical ethics, education, and diversity. Completely updated to reflect current trends in the vast field of public administration, the second edition of this bestselling encyclopedia provides an exhaustive resource that features the input of leading scholars. Each authoritative entry is a coherent article, rather than a short paragraph, that offers readers salient theories, issues, and concepts. Relevant to practitioners, as well as new and expert scholars, this seminal work provides an introduction to the vast array of subjects included in public administration today, as well as references to additional bodies of knowledge. A brief listing of just a few of the diverse entries found in the encyclopedia: Representative Bureaucracy Gramm-Rudman-Hollings: Impact on the Federal Budgetary Process Administrative Reform in Southeast Asia Gaza Disengagement: Israel Government Forced Resettlement (2005) Public-Private Partnerships for Economic Development Teaching of Ethics in Public Administration Pension Under-Funding: Generational Accounting Perspective Feminism and Chaos Theory Gender Bias, Ethical Analysis of and in Public Policy Metropolitan Governmental Fragmentation State and Local Public Pension Fund Management Evolutionary Theory and Public Policy No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 This second edition features a wide range of new topics, including military administration, government procurement, social theory, and justice administration in developed democracies. It also addresses current issues such as the creation of the Department of Homeland Security and covers public administration in the Middle East, Africa, Southeast Asia, the Pacific, and Latin America. Contact us to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367 / (email) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062 / (email) online.sales@tandf.co.uk 　

The past two decades have been marked by a period of substantial and often fundamental change in public administration. Critically reflecting on the utility of scholarly theory and the extent to which government practices inform the development of this theory, the Handbook of Public Administration was a landmark publication which served as an essential guide for both the practice of public administration today and its on-going development as an academic discipline. The Concise Paperback Edition provides a selection of 30 of the original articles in an accessible paperback format and includes a new introduction by B. Guy Peters and Jon Pierre. It is an essential point of reference for all students of public administration.

This Handbook deals with many aspects of public policy evaluation including methods, examples, studies, professionalism, perspectives, concepts, trends, substance, theory, applications, dispute resolution, interdisciplinary interaction and bibliographies. A rich variety of insights and alternative perspectives on systematic policy evaluation, as well as ideas and applications dealing with win-win policy evaluation are, brought together to create a unique resource in public policy evaluation.