LibGuides: Black Studies Research Guide: Find Articles

Black Studies Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides broad coverage of most academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, and in the scholarly and general periodical literature. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 9,000 of those titles.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations for articles published in over 2,000 periodicals which address the history of the United States and Canada. The database also indexes books, book reviews, and Ph.D. dissertations.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
This database features full-text articles—as well as detailed indexing and abstracts—for an array of journals, books and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
The American Theological Library Association compiles the ATLA Religion Database, which contains articles published in over 230 research journals and periodicals in Religious Studies. In addition, the database indexes book chapters and book reviews, thus extending its comprehensive coverage of the literature.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 4,000 journals in all disciplines of business, including the Harvard Business Review (1922-current). Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of over 1,000 Core titles and features full text for more than 600 active periodicals, including 150 full text titles not found in other EBSCO academic databases. Also included is backfile coverage of top titles in Communication reaching deep into the 20th century.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for articles published in journals spanning several disciplines, emphasizing articles which address criminal justice. Topical coverage includes crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The library's JSTOR account includes access to all fifteen Arts & Sciences Collections and the several topical collections such as Ireland, Life Sciences, Security Studies, and Sustainability. These encompass an archive of over 2,300 journals in classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, the history and study of art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes full text articles from over 2,400 research journals across social science disciplines. Also includes working papers and doctoral dissertations.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Covers articles published in 1,400 periodicals in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, social work, business, political science, and law.
Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online offers articles published in over 2,100 research journals extending back to 1997.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Science citation index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social sciences citation index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & humanities citation index from 1975 to the present.

Black Studies Primary Source Databases

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles.
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window
Scanned and searchable archival records of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, Congress of Racial Equality, Southern Christian Leadership Conference, and Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee.
History Vault This link opens in a new window
Researchers can access primary source material including letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more. The materials are taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
Brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, as well as materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870.