Aviation Research Guide

Finally, there is a reference that specifically provides detailed historical and in-depth, year-by-year operational and statistical profiles of all the commercial air transport concerns extant worldwide during the past 90 years. The 6,556 entries are arranged alphabetically to facilitate ease of use. This encyclopedia profiles all airlines including charter passenger planes, cargo airlines (major, commuter, and taxi), as well as specialized operators such as forest fire-fighting concerns, offshore helicopter services, and even pioneering airship operators like DELAG. Each profile receives individual chronological coverage, and every effort has been made to provide currency and postscripts listing name changes, mergers, and failures from late 2000 into December 2001. If the airline is still flying, full data is provided including addresses, telephone numbers, web URLs, two-letter IATA or three-letter ICAO codes, and year founded. For the most part, company portraits are provided under the most recent airline name, as well as predecessor identity. Name, nationality and dates of operation note companies that have dissolved. In addition to the company reviews supplied by aviation press, commercial monographs, government sources, and the general news media, data is also provided on: - Accidents and incidents - Terrorism and in-flight crime (reports of hijackings entire story from start to finish) - Government service in war and peace (including covert operation) - Detailed company histories of all airlines - Lists "code-sharing" partnerships and pacts with other carriers - Includes financial information on major carriers (i.e. number of employees, numbers of annual passengers flown, profit, earnings, etc.) - Literary or film production involvement - Links to major sporting events like the Olympic Games - Natural disasters - Routes

The FAA's Airplane Flying Handbook has been required reading for all pilots for over 40 years, and introduces the basic pilot skills and knowledge essential for piloting airplanes. It benefits student pilots just beginning their aviation endeavors, as well as pilots preparing for additional certificates and ratings or who want to improve their flying proficiency, and flight instructors engaged in teaching pilots of all skill levels. This handbook provides information and guidance on the procedures and maneuvers required for pilot certification. Chapters are dedicated to ground operations, basic flight maneuvers, slow flight, stalls, spins, takeoff and departure climbs, performance and ground reference maneuvers, airport traffic patterns, approaches and landings, flight training basics, transitions to different types of aircraft, emergency procedures, and much more. The latest edition expands and updates the material that has always been a key reference in the FAA's testing and Airman Certification Standards (ACS), and it incorporates new areas of safety concerns and technical information such as loss-of-control upset prevention and recovery training, and transitioning to light sport airplanes (LSA). The Airplane Flying Handbook is the official FAA source for learning to fly and for many of the test questions in the FAA Knowledge Exams for pilots. Complete with chapter summaries and illustrated throughout with detailed, full-color drawings and photographs, glossary and index.

The Aviation Maintenance Technician Handbook--General is designed for use by instructors and applicants preparing for the FAA Knowledge and Practical Exams for obtaining an FAA Aviation Maintenance Technician (AMT) certificate with airframe or powerplant ratings, or both (also called an A&P license). This volume was developed as one in a series of handbooks for this purpose; additionally, it is an invaluable reference guide for already-certificated technicians and those holding the Inspection Authorization (IA) rating who wish to improve their knowledge.This FAA handbook discusses the principles, fundamentals, and technical procedures in subject matter areas common to the airframe and powerplant ratings: safety, ground operations an servicing, regulations, maintenance forms, records and publications, mathematics, aircraft drawings, physics, weight and balance, aircraft materials, hardware and processes, cleaning and corrosion control, fluid lines and fittings, inspection concepts and techniques, hand tools and measuring devices, electricity an electronics, inspection, mechanic privileges and limitations, and human factors. Also discussed are the ways that successful AMTs incorporate into their daily tasks the knowledge and awareness of ethics and professionalism. Illustrated throughout with detailed, full-color drawings and photographs, with a comprehensive glossary and index.

The Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary is an authoritative and accessible reference useful to scholars and enthusiasts alike. This dictionary is an essential tool for people who must read and understand technical content regarding the aerospace industry and specific aircraft. The Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary is also an ideal reference for the engineering and physics student encountering a subject replete with technical jargon and acronyms. The Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary is based on three previous editions of the popular and definitive Janes Aerospace Dictionary by Bill Gunston, OBE, FRaes. For this new edition, Gunston, one of the most widely read and respected aviation writers of all time, added over 15,000 new terms, mostly acronyms, in this carefully updated volume. Terms used in the dictionary reflect the diverse and international nature of the aerospace industry. Also included are brief explanations of aerospace materials and organizations. Terms specific to manufacturers, airlines, and armed forces are avoided.

Encyclopedia of Flight is designed to be accessible to aviation enthusiasts, general readers, and high school and undergraduate students. Moreover, this encyclopedia also addresses many social issues pertaining to the contemporary airline industry.

A technical reference for pilots and other aviation professionals. Alphabetically arranged by topic, it provides information and illustrations on subjects ranging from aerodynamics, airspeed, aircraft performance and atmosphere to engines, flight ops, meteorology, v-speeds and windshear.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most trusted source of complete pilot information--totally revised and updated! A good pilot is always learning. That's why The Pilot's Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge, FifthEdition, is such an indispensable resource. This bestselling guide covers all the essential informationa pilot needs to become more knowledgeable--from terminology, navigation, airport and airspaceoperations to radio communications, emergency procedures, flight planning, weather, and much more. At the same time, it strikes a balance of being both concise and comprehensive in a streamlined, to-the-point format--while retaining the integrity and scope of the original material. Thoroughly revised, this new fifth edition has also been updated to include current FAA policies as wellas procedures involving pilot and passenger safety in flight, as well as safe operations at airports andairspaces, at and between airports. There's never been a more resourceful way for a pilot to add to the foundation on which safe flying skills are built--while continuing to learn. New to this edition: The most complete step-by-step, call-by-call, radio communications chapter available to today's aviation student covering a long-distance flight from start to finish Updated FAA mandated standards of policies and procedures Additional photos and drawings A more streamlined design Complete flight planning strategies for long-distance flights

-- A unique and indispensable reference book on the aircraft of the world -- An up-to-date and comprehensive guide This valuable directory contains a wealth of data on the history of aviation and attempts, for the first time, to identify every aircraft manufacturer and designer and every aircraft produced. This indispensable reference book is a comprehensive guide to the sheer number and variety of aircraft produced in the last hundred years. The directory has thousands of entries with, for each manufacturer or designer, the names of all the classes of aircraft produced (powered fixed-wing, unpowered fixed-wing, powered-rotor rotor craft and unpowered-rotor rotor craft). Entries are cross-referenced and brief histories of important companies have been added to enable the researcher to chart mergers, closures, and name changes. Significant nicknames and code names are also detailed. This valuable and unique book presents a vast, official array of data in an accessible form and is an essential reference book for any aviation enthusiast.