Skip to main content

Native American Literature Research Guide

Use this guide to find UNO library resources and other helpful research tools.

Native American Studies Materials in Special Collections & Rare Books

In addition to the selected collections listed here to get your research started, search Archives & Special Collections' database for additional material.

Native American Studies Materials in University Archives

In addition to the selected collections listed here to get your research started, search Archives & Special Collections' database for additional material.

American Indian Digital History Project

Find Archives & Manuscripts

You can search our collections to find material related to your research interests before visiting Archives and Special Collections.

Finding aids serve as guides to specific archival and manuscript collections. Finding aids are also often thought of as inventories to collections.

Archives & Special Collections' finding aids database Nebraska Archives Online provides finding aids for researchers to search or browse. New finding aids and updated descriptions are continually added. Nebraska Archives Online also includes links to digitized material when available. A video tutorial is available. Note that in addition to collections held by UNO Libraries, finding aids for collections held by all University of Nebraska campuses are found in this database. If you have not found what you are looking for in the database, contact Archives and Special Collections staff for assistance.

Find Books

Archives & Special Collections' books, theses, and dissertations can be found by searching Criss Library's catalog.

Other selected material in Archives & Special Collections that can also be found in the library catalog includes periodicals, some maps, and some audiovisual material. Criss Library's catalog indexes books, CD's, DVD's, musical scores, maps, government documents, theses and dissertations, as well as other material available in the library outside of Archives & Special Collections. 

The Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection Bibliography, Volume I: Pashto and Dari Titles (1995) and Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection Bibliography - Volume II: English and European Languages (2000) are available online from DigitalCommons@UNO.