Native American Literature Research Guide

Text of the nine treaties not included in the Kappler volumes. This collection has the full-text for nine treaties created from 1722 to 1805. Combined with the Kappler collection available at the web site of Oklahoma State University, the researcher has access to all federally recognized treaties between the United States and Indian nations.

The Oklahoma State University Library Electronic Publishing Center has digitized the complete collection of Charles J. Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties. This compilation has served as the primary source for texts of treaties between the United States and American Indian nations.

Full-text links to U.S. Statutes, treaties, court cases, Presidential messages to Congress, and the Constitution of the Iroquois Nation. Provides a complete list of treaties for the following nations: Apache, Arapaho, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Comanche, Creek, Delaware, Kiowa Oneida, Potawatami, Shawnee, Six Nations, and Wyandot.

American Indian Constitutions and Legal Materials is a collection of digital documents from the Law Library of Congress. The collection contains most of the laws and constitutions from the early 19th century and after passage of the Indian Removal Act of 1830, and also includes constitutions and charters drafted after the 1934 Indian Reorganization Act.

The EPA Tribal Portal was created as a gateway to EPA environmental information specifically related to tribal governments, such as environmental policies, practices and laws affecting Native American Tribes. The site includes resources such as Policies, Laws & Regulations, Memoranda of Understanding, Newsletters, and Maps and Data.

Nonprofit law firm focusing on the rights of Indian tribes, organizations and individuals. Click on the "Library and Resources by Topic" link to access links to laws and treaties.