LibGuides: Native American Literature Research Guide: Finding Books

Quick Search

Catalog Search Tips

Sign in using your NetID to:

See restricted articles if you're not on campus.
Request materials via Interlibrary Loan.
Renew items in your account, see your requests, or see what you have checked out.
Save your search results for future use in "My Favorites." Click on the pin icon and it will automatically be saved.
Save your search queries and receive alerts when new items are added that match those searches.

Start searching

Enter search words to search by keyword. By default the bar on this guide searches "Library Catalog". This will return items at UNO Libraries. You can also search “Everything," "Articles," "Network Catalog" which will search all the library in the University of Nebraska System, or “Course Reserves.”
Click on "Advanced Search" to search by subject, title, or author fields. "Advanced Search" gives you many options to limit your search—by material type, date, language, etc. Or, you can filter your results after searching.

Refine your results

Use the filters on the left-hand side of the screen to limit your results by date ,resource type, location, language, and more.

eBooks Help
The e-Books guide contains all the information you need about using and downloading the library's e-book collections.

Selected Books

Handbook of Native American Literature by Andrew Wiget (Editor)
Call Number: PM155 .D53 2012
ISBN: 9780815325864
Publication Date: 2012
The Handbook of Native American Literature is a unique, comprehensive, and authoritative guide to the oral and written literatures of Native Americans. The book features reports on the oral traditions of various tribes and topics such as the relation of the Bible, dreams, oratory, humor, autobiography, and federal land policies to Native American literature. Eight additional essays cover teaching Native American literature, new fiction, new theater, and other important topics, and there are bio-critical essays on more than 40 writers.
Indigenous Americas by Lisa Tatonetti
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781452943268
Publication Date: 2014
With a new and more inclusive perspective for the growing field of queer Native studies, this book provides a genealogy of queer Native writing after Stonewall. Looking across a broad range of literature, the text offers an overview and guide to queer Native literature from its rise in the 1970s to the present day.
The Political Arrays of American Indian Literary History by James H. Cox
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781452961392
Publication Date: 2019
Bringing fresh insight to a century of writing by Native Americans, The Political Arrays of American Indian Literary History challenges conventional views of the past one hundred years of Native American writing, bringing Native American Renaissance and post-Renaissance writers into conversation with their predecessors.
The Routledge Companion to Native American Literature by Deborah L. Madsen (Editor)
Call Number: PS153.I52 R68 2016
ISBN: 9781138020603
Publication Date: 2015
The Routledge Companion to Native American Literature engages the multiple scenes of tension -- historical, political, cultural, and aesthetic -- that constitutes a problematic legacy in terms of community identity, ethnicity, gender and sexuality, language, and sovereignty in the study of Native American literature.
Self-Determined Stories by Mandy Suhr-Sytsma
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1609175786
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
The first book of its kind, Self-Determined Stories: The Indigenous Reinvention of Young Adult Literature reads Indigenous-authored YA--from school stories to speculative fiction-- not only as a vital challenge to stereotypes but also as a rich intellectual resource for theorizing Indigenous sovereignty in the contemporary era.
Shapes of Native nonfiction : collected essays by contemporary writers by Elissa Washuta and Theresa Warburton (eds.)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 0295745770
Publication Date: 2019
"For many the phrase "Native nonfiction" inspires thoughts of the past, of timeless oral history transcriptions and dry 19th century autobiographies. In Shapes of Native Nonfiction, Washuta and Warburton explode this perspective by showcasing 22 contemporary Native writers and their provocative approaches to form.
Word Dance by Carl Waldman; Molly Braun (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0816028346
Publication Date: 1994-11-01
An ingenious cross between a glossary, a dictionary, and an encyclopedia, this book is a unique word book covering every aspect of Native American culture. Entries provide brief definitions, information about language usage, specific references in Native American history, alternate spellings and numerous cross-references to related subjects.

Selected Books

American Women Authors and Literary Property, 1822-1869 by Melissa J. Homestead
ISBN: 0521853826
Publication Date: 2005-10-17
Through an exploration of women authors' engagements with copyright and married women's property laws, American Women Authors and Literary Property, 1822-1869, revises nineteenth-century American literary history, making women's authorship and copyright law central.
Blue Pencils and Hidden Hands by Sharon M. Harris (Editor); Ellen Gruber Garvey (Contribution by)
ISBN: 1555536131
Publication Date: 2004-06-23
During the Long nineteenth century, American women editors of magazines, then the dominant mass medium for information in the United States, exerted a vital force over a burgeoning community of readers and were crucial in redefining women's identities and roles in the nation's changing social and cultural landscape. This collection of original critical essays builds on a growing body of scholarship to explore the varied editorial practices of women editors from diverse race, class, and ethnic backgrounds. Examining a broad spectrum of periodicals, including school newspapers, children's and fashion magazines, and activist political journals, the contributors delve into three major areas: women apprentices in magazine publishing; women who drew on their editorial experience to create other forms of literary, artistic, and activist expressions; and women who established careers as editors.
The Historical Statistics of the United States by Susan Carter (Editor); Scott S. Gartner (Editor); Michael R. Haines (Editor); Alan Olmstead (Editor); Richard Sutch (Editor); Gavin Wright (Editor)
ISBN: 0521585406
This quantitative history is composed of statistical tables plus interpretive essays that contextualize the data.
Indian Nation by Cheryl Walker; Donald Pease (Contribution by)
ISBN: 0822319500
Publication Date: 1997-04-30
Indian Nation documents the contributions of Native Americans to the notion of American nationhood and to concepts of American identity at a crucial, defining time in U.S. history. Departing from previous scholarship, Cheryl Walker turns the usual questions on their heads, asking not how whites experienced indigenous peoples, but how Native Americans envisioned the United States as a nation.
I Remain Alive by Ruth J. Heflin
Call Number: PS153.I52 H44 2000
ISBN: 9780815628057
Publication Date: 2000
This text examines the literary endeavour of five of the most prominent Native American writers from the turn of the 19th century: Charles Eastman, Gertrude Bonin, Luther Standing Bear, Nicholas Black Elk and Ella Deloria.
Native American Periodicals and Newspapers, 1828-1982 by James P. Danky (Editor); Maureen E. Hady (Compiled by); Ann Bowles
ISBN: 0313237735
Publication Date: 1984-07-06
âThis bibliography is an excellent current source of primary serial materials not only about but especially by Native Americans.... It is also comprehensive because of the diligence of the editors in locating ephemeral and short lived titles as well as better known publications in the continental US, Alaska, and Canada.
The Only Efficient Instrument by Aleta Feinsod Cane (Editor); Susan Alves (Editor)
ISBN: 1587294001
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
" The Only Efficient Instrument" examines farsighted women writers in nineteenth-century America whose pioneering use of newspapers and magazines had a vital impact on the political and intellectual communities of their day."
The Only Efficient Instrument by Aleta Feinsod Cane and Susan Alves (Eds.)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781587294006
Publication Date: 2005
The Only Efficient Instrument examines farsighted women writers in nineteenth-century America whose pioneering use of newspapers and magazines had a vital impact on the political and intellectual communities of their day.
Recovering Native American Writings in the Boarding School Press by Jacqueline Emery (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781496204097
Publication Date: 2017
Recovering Native American Writings in the Boarding School Press is the first comprehensive collection of writings by students and well-known Native American authors who published in boarding school newspapers during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Writings by Gertrude Bonnin (Zitkala-sa), Charles Eastman, and Luther Standing Bear are paired with the works of lesser-known writers to reveal parallels and points of contrast between students and generations.
Sky Loom by Brian Swann (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780803276017
Publication Date: 2014
Each of the twenty-six selections is translated and introduced by a well-known expert on Native oral literatures and offers entry into the cultures and traditions of several different tribes and bands, including the Yupiit and the Tlingits of the polar North; the Coast Salish and the Kwakwaka'wakw of the Pacific Northwest; the Navajos, the Pimas, and the Yaquis of the Southwest; the Lakota Sioux and the Plains Crees of the Great Plains; the Ojibwes of the Great Lakes; the Naskapis and the Eastern Crees of the Hudson Bay area in Canada; and the Munsees of the Northeast.
Social Stories by Patricia Okker
ISBN: 0813922402
Publication Date: 2003-10-29
Largely ignored in American literary history, the magazine novel was extremely popular throughout the nineteenth century, with editors describing the form as a virtual "necessity" for magazines. By exploring how magazine novelists addressed audiences that differed from one another in terms of race, region, class, and gender, Social Stories offers a narrative of the American magazine novel that emphasizes its direct engagement with social, political, and cultural issues of its day.

Search Worldcat

Worldcat
WorldCat is an online catalog that will help you find books and other items located in libraries around the world. Use interlibrary loan to request a title from another library.
Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery