LibGuides: Native American Literature Research Guide: Finding Articles

Secondary Literature

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The library's JSTOR account includes access to all fifteen Arts & Sciences Collections and the several topical collections such as Ireland, Life Sciences, Security Studies, and Sustainability. These encompass an archive of over 2,300 journals in classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, the history and study of art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920’s, containing over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. In Fall 2018, the database was enhanced to include the full text of articles published in 1,000 journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in the arts, humanities, history and social sciences
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations for articles published in over 2,000 periodicals which address the history of the United States and Canada. The database also indexes books, book reviews, and Ph.D. dissertations.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals.
Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This database offers an online archive of the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, which for many decades has been a major index to articles published in news magazines such as Time, Newsweek, and U.S. News & World Report as well as popular magazines like Good Housekeeping and Reader's Digest.

Primary Texts & Historical Newspapers

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
The American Periodicals Series brings the early days of U.S. history alive through more than 7,000,000 digitized page images from over 1,000 periodicals spanning 200 years. The wide variety of content ranges from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, first published in 1741, to literary and professional journals, specialized titles, and such well-known magazines as Vanity Fair, Ladies' Home Journal, Scientific American, and The Dial.
Gale: Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Provides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search 11 different databases. Two of note for Native American studies are Indigenous Peoples: North America and Sabin Americana.
New York Times website for UNO This link opens in a new window
UNO students, faculty, and staff are eligible for a personal account for the online New York Times. Click here to login through your library account to validate your eligibility, and then set up a New York Times account using your unomaha.edu email address as your username.

A UNO account includes access to the TimesMachine, the scanned archive extending back to 1851. Click into the menu at the upper left of the NYT homepage and then click "More" and then "TimesMachine."
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to search and view American Historic newspaper pages from 1890-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Harpweek : 1857-1912 This link opens in a new window
HarpWeek enables you to directly experience the richness and historical significance of Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.

Recent Newspapers

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Search over 6,000 news sources across the United States and over 2,500 from around the world. Time coverage extends back 35 years for some sources, and the database is updated every day. Archival files Include the Omaha World Herald back to 1885.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis, Nexis Uni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including decisions of the Federal courts and the appellate courts of all 50 states. (Also includes Zacks Equity Research.)

Native American Literature Research Guide

Secondary Literature

Primary Texts & Historical Newspapers

Recent Newspapers

Key Journals