ENGL4960/8866 Research and Writing Women's Lives Research Guide

The exciting visual cavalcade and text captures a century of public higher education in America's urban heartland and the role of graduates in American society.

This bibliography--the first systematic bibliographical tool ever assembled for the state of Nebraska-- includes monographs, journal articles, theses, and dissertations published prior to 1994. Entries are fully annotated, including both descriptive and interpretive annotations, making the book useful to both academic and amateur researchers.

"Lawrence Larsen and his wife Barbara Cottrell have written a marvelous urban biography. They have done what other historians often fail to do--relate local happenings to the larger regional and national picture. And Larsen and Cottrell have skillfully used sophisticated historical works and concepts, incorporating them in an understandable fashion. Throughout this book the authors write in a delightful manner; they make you want to visit Omaha!"--North Dakota History.

This essential guide begins by differentiating between the practice of oral history and the ancient oral traditions of Indian cultures, detailing ethical and legal parameters, and addressing the different motivations for and uses of oral histories in tribal, community, and academic settings. Within that crucial context, the authors provide a practical, step-by-step guide to project planning, equipment and budgets, and the conduct and processing of interviews, followed by a set of examples from a variety of successful projects, key forms ready for duplication, and the Oral History Association Evaluation Guidelines.

In neighborhoods, schools, community centers, and workplaces, people are using oral history to capture and collect the kinds of stories that the history books and the media tend to overlook: stories of personal struggle and hope, of war and peace, of family and friends, of beliefs, traditions, and values-the stories of our lives.Catching Stories: A Practical Guide to Oral History is a clear and comprehensive introduction for those with little or no experience in planning or implementing oral history projects.

Oral history is vital to our understanding of the cultures and experiences of the past. Unlike written history, oral history forever captures people's feelings, expressions, and nuances of language. But what exactly is oral history? How reliable is the information gathered by oral history? And what does it take to become an oral historian? Donald A. Ritchie, a leading expert in the field, answers these questions and in particular, explains the principles and guidelines created by the Oral History Association to ensure the professional standards of oral historians.

The Special Editors of Gender and Memory, Selma Leydesdorff, Luisa Passerini, and Paul Thompson, draw on original contributions reflecting on the relationships between gender and memory in western and eastern Europe, China, Africa, Australia, the United States and Brazil.The aim of the International Yearbook is to increase our understanding of the recent past and the changing present. It sets out to present and interpret autobiographical testimony, whether in the firm of written autobiography, oral history, or life story interviews. Each issue forms a coherent volume focusing on a single theme.

Gathered here are parts I and II of the Handbook of Oral History, which set the benchmark for knowledge of the field. The eminent contributors discuss the history and methodologies of a field that once was the domain of history scholars who were responding to trends within the academy, but which has increasingly become democratized and widely used outside the realm of historical research. This handbook will be both a traveling guide and essential touchstone for anyone fascinated by this dynamic and expanding discipline.

The essays in this anthology represent, in the broadest sense, an interpretive perspective of inquiry that has flourished in oral history for the past 15 years. This perspective considers oral history interviews as subjective, socially constructed and emergent events; that is, understanding, interpretation, and meaning of lived experience are interactively constructed.

The Understanding Research series focuses on the process at writing up social research. The series is broken down into three categories: Understanding Statistics, Understanding Measurement, and Understanding Qualitative Research. These books provide researchers with guides to understanding, writing, and evaluating social research. Each volume demonstrates how research should be represented, including how to write up the methodology as well as the research findings. Each volume also reviews how to appropriately evaluate published research. In depth examines are provided in each volume. Book jacket.

Oral History and Public Memories is the first book to explore the relationship between the well-established practice of oral history and the burgeoning field of memory studies. Taken together, these contributions explain the processes by which oral histories move beyond interviews with individual people to become articulated memories shared by others.

Oral history is increasingly acknowledged as a key tool for anyone studying the history of the recent past. The book is structured around key themes, including the peculiarities of oral history, the study of the self, subjectivity and intersubjectivity, memory, narrative, performance and power.

The Oral History Manual is designed to help anyone interested in doing oral history research to think like an oral historian. This title provides a road map for all oral history practitioners, from students to public historians.

In this revised edition of Paul Thompson's successful book, he traces oral history through its own past and weighs up the recent achievements of this international movement. He challenges myths of historical scholarship and looks at the use of oral sources by the historian. The author offersadvice on designing a project; discusses reliability of oral evidence; considers the context of the development of historical writing including it's social function.; and looks at memory, the self and the use of drama and therapy.

Willa Baum once again shares her enormous knowledge of oral history in her second AASLH book, focusing this time on what to do when ending interviews, how to decide whether or not to transcribe, how to process data, and how to transcribe. Also provided are detailed instructions on auditing tapes, editing, working with legal agreements, indexing, and more.

Telling Our Lives explores how three working-class women-from Jewish, African-American, and Irish-American backgrounds connect across their differences through storytelling and conversation.

This insightful and thought-provoking resource explores in detail: how new information about African women is being created; the strengths of oral narrative research for expanding and transforming knowledge about black women; and how carrying out oral history research has affected the researchers' personal and professional lives.

Contemporary Feminist Theories was inspired by a dissatisfaction with existing introductions, which often fail to fully track change and capture diversity within feminist thought. The volume draws on the expertise of a range of Western feminists in order to reflect the breadth of feminist theory as well as shifts within it.

The Concise Companion to Feminist Theory introduces readers to the broad scope of feminist theory over the last 35 years. Organised around concepts rather than schools of feminism.

Chronicles a renaissance of feminist theory through the so-called third wave of the present day, which follows significant "waves" of earlier periods: the fifteenth through early eighteenth centuries as well as the more widely recognized nineteenth century; and the 1960s through the 80s.

Explores the issues of violence, sexuality, political activity, popular culture, and also the impact of race, class, sexual orientation and age. The book focuses on the dynamics of doing research, rather than engaging in a theoretical discussion about research techniques.

This anthology is the first to feature women's rhetorical theory from the fifth through the nineteenth centuries. Assembling selections on rhetoric, composition, and communication by 24 women around the world, this valuable collection demonstrates an often-overlooked history of rhetoric as well as women's interest in conversation as a model for all discourse. Visit our website for sample chapters!

Feminist Empirical Research is designed to introduce those who are interested in feminism, or already attempting to conduct empirical research in feminist ways, to theoretical and methodological discussions as well as practical strategies that can help not only feminist empirical researchers, but empirical researchers in general.

Autobiography raises a vital issue in feminist critical theory today: the imperative need to situate the female subject. Life/Lines, a collection of essays on women's autobiography, attempts to meet this need.