LibGuides: ENGL4960/8866 Research and Writing Women's Lives Research Guide: Catalog/Local Resources

Quick Search

Catalog Search Tips

Sign in using your NetID to:

See restricted articles if you're not on campus.
Request materials via Interlibrary Loan.
Renew items in your account, see your requests, or see what you have checked out.
Save your search results for future use in "My Favorites." Click on the pin icon and it will automatically be saved.
Save your search queries and receive alerts when new items are added that match those searches.

Start searching

Enter search words to search by keyword. By default the bar on this guide searches "Library Catalog". This will return items at UNO Libraries. You can also search “Everything," "Articles," "Network Catalog" which will search all the library in the University of Nebraska System, or “Course Reserves.”
Click on "Advanced Search" to search by subject, title, or author fields. "Advanced Search" gives you many options to limit your search—by material type, date, language, etc. Or, you can filter your results after searching.

Refine your results

Use the filters on the left-hand side of the screen to limit your results by date ,resource type, location, language, and more.

eBooks Help
The e-Books guide contains all the information you need about using and downloading the library's e-book collections.

University of Omaha history

University of Nebraska at Omaha by Oliver B. Pollak; Les Valentine
Call Number: LD4341.O62 P65 2007
ISBN: 0738551104
Publication Date: 2007-04-25
The exciting visual cavalcade and text captures a century of public higher education in America's urban heartland and the role of graduates in American society.
A history of the University of Nebraska at Omaha, 1908-1983 by Tommy R Thompson
Call Number: LD4341.O62 T45 1983
Publication Date: 1983
Nebraska History by Michael L. Tate
Call Number: REF DESK F666 .T37 1995
ISBN: 9780313282492
Publication Date: 1995-08-30
This bibliography--the first systematic bibliographical tool ever assembled for the state of Nebraska-- includes monographs, journal articles, theses, and dissertations published prior to 1994. Entries are fully annotated, including both descriptive and interpretive annotations, making the book useful to both academic and amateur researchers.
The Gate City by Lawrence H. Larsen; Barbara J. Cottrell; Harl A. Dalstrom (Contribution by)
Call Number: F674.O557 L37 1997
ISBN: 9780803279674
Publication Date: 1997-07-28
"Lawrence Larsen and his wife Barbara Cottrell have written a marvelous urban biography. They have done what other historians often fail to do--relate local happenings to the larger regional and national picture. And Larsen and Cottrell have skillfully used sophisticated historical works and concepts, incorporating them in an understandable fashion. Throughout this book the authors write in a delightful manner; they make you want to visit Omaha!"--North Dakota History.

Local Resources

Omaha World Herald, 1885- This link opens in a new window
Search the Omaha World Herald historical image file (1885-1983) and the current text file(1983- ). Beginning in September 2018, a new current file includes searchable page and article images.
Omaha Star, 1938- This link opens in a new window
Search the Omaha Star historical file (1938-2011) and the current file (2011- )
The Gateway Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
UNO student newspaper The Gateway offers readers a glimpse into campus life. Articles, photos, advertisements, and specific dates can be searched in issues dating back to 1922. Current articles from The Gateway are available on the newspaper's website.

Reflections in Time
The link takes you to a catalog search for the Reflections in Time series of video interviews with former UNO faculty and staff.
UNO Magazine -current issues
UNO Magazine - Archive
PDF issues of UNO Magazine dating back to 1998.

Quick Links

Use the Quick Links box to return to the UNO Homepage, the Criss Library Homepage and MyUNO for Blackboard, MyMail, and MyFolder services.