LibGuides: ENGL4960/8866 Research and Writing Women's Lives Research Guide: Finding Articles

Full-Text Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The library's JSTOR account includes access to all fifteen Arts & Sciences Collections and the several topical collections such as Ireland, Life Sciences, Security Studies, and Sustainability. These encompass an archive of over 2,300 journals in classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, the history and study of art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in the arts, humanities, history and social sciences
Biography Reference Bank Illustrated This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Bank Illustrated provides in-depth, full-text profiles, with more than 32,000 photographs

Citations & Abstracts

These databases have few, if any, full-text articles, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't use them! Sometimes the right source for your research is not available at UNO, but is out there at another library. You will need to use Interlibrary Loan to get this source. Try it. It's free!

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations for articles published in over 2,000 periodicals which address the history of the United States and Canada. The database also indexes books, book reviews, and Ph.D. dissertations.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This database offers an online archive of the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, which for many decades has been a major index to articles published in news magazines such as Time, Newsweek, and U.S. News & World Report as well as popular magazines like Good Housekeeping and Reader's Digest.

Local

The Gateway Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
UNO student newspaper The Gateway offers readers a glimpse into campus life. Articles, photos, advertisements, and specific dates can be searched in issues dating back to 1922. Current articles from The Gateway are available on the newspaper's website.

Newspapers

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Search over 6,000 news sources across the United States and over 2,500 from around the world. Time coverage extends back 35 years for some sources, and the database is updated every day. Archival files Include the Omaha World Herald back to 1885.
Wall Street Journal archive, 1889-2012 This link opens in a new window
The archival database for the Wall Street Journal, containing scanned and searchable issues and articles extending from 1889-2012, with another year added annually.
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
The American Periodicals Series brings the early days of U.S. history alive through more than 7,000,000 digitized page images from over 1,000 periodicals spanning 200 years. The wide variety of content ranges from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, first published in 1741, to literary and professional journals, specialized titles, and such well-known magazines as Vanity Fair, Ladies' Home Journal, Scientific American, and The Dial.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to search and view American Historic newspaper pages from 1890-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Harpweek : 1857-1912 This link opens in a new window
HarpWeek enables you to directly experience the richness and historical significance of Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.
New York Times website for UNO This link opens in a new window
UNO students, faculty, and staff are eligible for a personal account for the online New York Times. Click here to login through your library account to validate your eligibility, and then set up a New York Times account using your unomaha.edu email address as your username.

A UNO account includes access to the TimesMachine, the scanned archive extending back to 1851. Click into the menu at the upper left of the NYT homepage and then click "More" and then "TimesMachine."

Google Searching

Finding articles

Did you know that Criss Library has over two hundred databases representing a wide variety of disciplines? To make things a bit easier for you this section highlights selected databases most appropriate to this class.

You may access the databases and other electronic resources 24/7 from your home computer. You will need to authenticate using your library account information (NU ID # and password).

Find eJournals

There are different ways to obtain a specific journal title from the Criss Library:

1. To find online journals, click on the eJournals tab (top right) on the Library's home page.

2. Search the Criss Library Catalog for paper and eJournals.

3. Request a journal article from the Interlibrary Loan ILLiad Service.

eJournals
Use this link to locate journals in the catalog or online indexes and databases.
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Use this link to logon to your Interlibrary Loan account to request a journal article from another library.