This section displays contact information for experts in pollution prevention (p2).
Programs listed: 19
1. Cedar Rapids Linn County Solid Waste Agency
The CR - LC Solid Waste Agency ensures the health, safety, and welfare of the community through cost-effective and environmentally-sound practices for management of solid waste generated in Linn County, Iowa.
1954 County Home Road
Marion, IA 52302
Phone: (319) 377-5290
Fax: (319) 377-5480
Contact: Karmin McShane, Executive Director
2. Center for Energy and Environmental Education - University of Northern Iowa
Completed in the fall of 1994, the Center for Energy and Environmental Education provides space for instructional and support facilities, and serves as a model of energy efficiency and environmental awareness. The mission of the center is to nurture a positive environmental ethic and to develop environmental literacy in children and adults. This mission is carried out through educational programming, instructional materials development, educational research, and community outreach. The Center houses a resource room for use by the general public, offering materials on energy efficiency for homes and businesses.
University of Northern Iowa
Cedar Falls, IA 50614-0293
Phone: (319) 273-2573
Fax: (319) 273-7140
Contact: William Stigliani, Director
Contact Phone: (319) 273-2573
3. Center for Global and Regional Environmental Research (CGRER) - University of Iowa
CGRER promotes interdisciplinary efforts that focus on the multiple aspects of global environmental change, including the regional effects on natural ecosystems, environments, and resources, and on human health, culture and social systems. Center membership is composed of interested faculty members at any of Iowa's colleges and universities. Currently there are 50+ CGRER members.
University of Iowa
CGRER, 424 IATL
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: (319) 335-3333
Fax: (319) 335-3337
Contact: Jane Frank, Administrative Assistant
4. Industrial Assessment Center (IA)
The Industrial Assessment Center (IAC) at Iowa State University (ISU) provides FREE energy use, productivity enhancement, and waste reduction assessments to qualifying manufacturers. The IAC program at ISU is one of 26 IACs located nationwide and is funded by the U. S. Department of Energy
Iowa State University
2088 Black Engineering Building
Ames, IA 50011
Phone: (515) 294-3080
Fax: (515) 294-3261
Contact: Gregory Maxwell, Director
Contact Phone: (515) 294-8645
Contact Fax Number: (515) 294-3261
5. Iowa Department of Economic Development
Iowa Department of Economic Development's mission is to improve the economic well-being of the State of Iowa by working with businesses and communities to strengthen their foundations for growth in the New Economy. The Iowa Department of Economic Development has three divisions: Business Development, Community Development and Administration. The Business Development Division serves both domestic and international business clients.
200 East Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone: (515) 242-4761
Fax: (515) 242-4776
Hot Line: 800-351-4668
Contact: Matt Rasmussen, Business Manager, Recycle Iowa
6. Iowa Department of Natural Resources - Pollution Prevention Services
Pollution Prevention Services coordinates and manages pollution prevention on-site technical assistance and P2 information for large business and industry, institutions, and government. Assistance is provided through on-site assessments, a nationally recognized Pollution Prevention Intern Program, environmental management systems assistance, and workshops and training.
502 E. 9th Street
Wallace State Office Building
Des Moines, IA 50319-0034
Phone: (515) 281-5353
Fax: (515) 281-8895
Contact: Jeff Fiagle, Team Leader
Contact Phone: (515) 281-5353
Contact Fax Number: (515) 281-8895
The Iowa Environmental Council is an alliance of diverse organizations and individuals working with all Iowans to protect our natural environment. We seek a sustainable future through: shaping public policy, research and education, coalition-building.
711 East Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone: (515) 244-1194
Fax: (515) 244-7856
Contact: Rich Leopold, Executive Director
Contact Phone: (515) 244-1194
8. Iowa Renewable Energy Association (I-RENEW)
Iowa Renewable Energy Association is a non-profit organization promoting the use of renewable energy and energy conservation in Iowa's homes, farms, and schools. Since 1992, I-RENEW has sponsored educational programs on alternative energy and helped disseminate existing knowledge about renewable and energy efficiency throughout the state. By sponsoring hands-on alternative energy workshops and working with other grass-roots organizations, I-RENEW is helping to make renewable energy a reality for all Iowans.
P.O. Box 3405
Iowa City, IA 52244-3405
Phone: (319) 643-3160
Contact: Michelle Brown, Executive Director
Contact Phone: (319) 341-4372
9. Iowa Waste Reduction Center - University of Northern Iowa
Since 1988, the IWRC has helped small businesses comply with federal and state environmental regulations. By incorporating on-site reviews, applied research, and hands-on training into its free and confidential assistance program, the IWRC offers complete compliance assistance that small businesses can understand and apply.
Suite 113, BCS Building
Cedar Falls, IA 50614-0185
Phone: (319) 273-8905
Contact: John Konefes, Director
Contact Phone: (319) 273-8905
10. Kansas Army National Guard Environmental Office
The Kansas Army National Guard (KSARNG) Directorate of Facilities Engineering (DOFE) Environmental Office provides environmental support to the over 70 KSARNG facilities and units located throughout our State. Through providing guidance and assistance with hazardous material/hazardous waste management, pollution prevention, compliance, environmental engineering, conservation of natural and historic resources and training issues, the DOFE Environmental Office helps ensure that all of our soldiers incorporate environmental stewardship into all of their activities and being a leader in the Army National Guard environmental community. The KSARNG has received numerous military, state, regional, and national environmental awards, including winning the 2003 Secretary of the Army Environmental Security Award and being named Honorable Mention for the Secretary of Defense Environmental Security Award, both in the category of Overall Environmental Quality.
131 SW 27th St.
Topeka, KS 66611-1159
Phone: (785) 274-1151
Fax: (785) 274-1619
Contact: Anthony Randall
Contact Phone: (785) 274-1151
11. Kansas Small Business Environmental Assistance Program (Kansas SBEAP)
SBEAP provides guidance in compliance and technical matters to businesses that otherwise would not have access to such help because of financial constraints. SBEAP emphasizes assistance designed to diminish the burden of compliance and the SBEAP staff will work with you to implement pollution prevention practices such as material substitution, process optimization, waste minimization, and recycling. All services provided by the SBEAP are completely confidential, nonregulatory, and free.
Kansas State University Pollution Prevention Institute
133 Ward Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506-2508
Hot Line: 800-578-8898
Contact: Nancy Larson, Director
12. Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department (LLCHD) - Environmental Public Health Division
Environmental Public Health Division focuses on the protection of a healthy environment. Provides citizens and businesses of Lincoln and Lancaster County with technical assistance through public education, permitting, solid waste handling, hazardous waste management, hazardous pollutant monitoring, pollution prevention assessment, and household hazardous waste management.
Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department
3140 N Street
Lincoln, NE 68510
Phone: (402) 441-8040
Fax: (402) 441-3890
Contact: Ralph Martin, Senior Environmental Health Specialist
Contact Phone: (402) 441-8640
Contact Fax Number: (402) 441-3890
13. Missouri Energy Center, - Missouri Department of Natural Resources
The Department of Natural Resources' Energy Center is a nonregulatory state agency that works to protect the environment and stimulate the economy through energy efficiency and renewable energy resources and technologies. The Energy Center provides information and research on energy issues upon request and provides low-interest loans to schools and local government entities, and administers the state’s Low-Income Weatherization Assistance Program.
1101 Riverside Drive
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Phone: (573) 751-3443
Fax: (573) 751-6860
Hot Line: 800-361-4827
Contact: Anita Randolph, Director
Contact Phone: (573) 751-2254
Contact Fax Number: (573) 751-6860
14. Partners in Pollution Prevention (P3) - University of Nebraska-Lincoln
The University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s (UNL) Partners in Pollution Prevention (P3) program has helped both area college students and Nebraska businesses since 1997. P3 is an outreach assistance program oper-ated by the University of Nebraska Extension and College of Engineering and funded by the USEPA Region VII, the Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality, and a wide variety of industrial partners.
University of Nebraska Lincoln
234 L.W. Chase
Lincoln, NE 68583-0726
Phone: (402) 472-2838
Fax: (402) 472-6338
Contact: Stacey Hawkey, CIH, Program Coordinator
Contact Phone: (402) 472-2383
Contact Fax Number: (402) 472-6338
15. Pollution Prevention Institute - Kansas State University
The mission of the Pollution Prevention Institute at Kansas State University is to provide technical assistance to small businesses to efficiently and cost-effectively reduce and/or control their wastes. The Pollution Prevention Institute (PPI) provides free, non-regulatory technical assistance and training in pollution prevention and environmental compliance. The program covers all media (air, water, and land.) PPI provides the following expertise: ways to eliminate or reduce pollution before it is generated, by changing working materials, practices, or technology; ways to increase efficient use of raw materials, energy, water, and other resources; and guidance with existing and future regulations so businesses can achieve regulatory compliance, reduce wastes and emissions, and reduce regulatory requirements.
7001 W. 21st Street N.
Wichita, KS 67205
Phone: (316) 722-7721 ext. 104
Fax: (785) 532-6952
Hot Line: 800-578-8898
Contact: Nancy Larson, Pollution Prevention Technical Coordinator
Contact Phone: (316) 722-7721 ext. 104
Contact Fax Number: (785) 532-6952
16. Pollution Prevention Regional Information Center (P2RIC)
Pollution Prevention Regional Information Center (P2RIC) strives to improve resource sharing between the programs, businesses, and agencies of EPA Region 7 (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska) that provide waste reduction services and expertise to business and industry.
University of Nebraska at Omaha
6001 Dodge St, RH 308
Omaha, NE 68182
Phone: (402) 554-6257
Fax: (402) 554-6260
Contact: Richard Yoder, Director
Contact Phone: (402) 554-6257
17. Recycle Iowa
Recycle Iowa is a program of the Iowa Department of Economic Development. The web site contains market information, Iowa Recycling Directories, frequently asked questions, and information on finding recycling resources.
200 East Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone: (800) 532-1216
Fax: (515) 242-4776
Contact: David Cretors, Industrial Outreach Manager
Contact Phone: (515) 242-4940
Contact Fax Number: (515) 242-4795
WasteCap Nebraska Mission Statement: To provide resource conservation assistance to Nebraska businesses. WasteCap Nebraska Goals: Serve as a proactive catalyst for Nebraska businesses and institutions for the conservation of resources. Facilitate partnerships and coordinate resources to increase the value and marketability of recycling commodities and access to recycling services.
WasteCap Nebraska
285 S. 68th Street Place, Suite 540
Lincoln, NE 68510
Phone: (402) 436-2384
Fax: (402) 434-7375
Hot Line: 888-392-7839
Contact: Carrie Hakenkamp, Executive Director
Contact Phone: (402) 436-2384
19. Wichita Department of Environmental Services
The mission of the Wichita Department of Environmental Services is to protect the citizens of Wichita and preserve the environment. The department does this by monitoring the air, ground and surface water. The general environment is maintained to detect and ensure clean up of conditions that pose a threat to the health of citizens.
City of Wichita
1900 East 9th Street
Wichita, KS 67214
Phone: (316) 268-8351
Fax: (316) 268-8390
Contact: Kay Johnson, Environmental Health Director