The article discusses Just Show Up, which includes Sarah Logan is the librarian at Dorothy Fox Elementary School in Camas, WA. She is the current chair of Washington Library Association's School Library Division who is passionate about Teacher Librarianship and the right of all students to be served by a qualified Teacher Librarian and strong school library program.
The article discusses about the level of use of academic print reference collection. Many libraries are moving their reference collection to a electronic format and are replacing the physical shelving with collaborative learning spaces.
This article is the second in a series exploring approaches to studying the storage density and overall efficiency (as measured in terms of number of items stored) in high-density book storage facilities.
The University of Louisville’s Ekstrom Library needed to remove 260,000 items from its shelves, and shift a further 95,000 within an extremely short deadline ahead of plans to redesign its third floor into an inviting, modern, student-friendly space for patrons to enjoy.
During the Fall 2017 semester, staff at the Hudson County Community College (HCCC), Library began to notice that many books listed as available in the catalog were often not being found on the shelves when patrons attempted to retrieve them.
The Mrs Lodge's Library's online shelving game is a simple yet useful tool to help children understand the rudiments of how books in a school library are organized. This tool allows children to practice putting books in order by both simple Dewey or Alphabetically.
Libraries as a building type have been subjected to substantial changes in particular in the past ten years. Milestones such as Rem Koolhaas' Seattle Central Library from 2004 reinvented the typology completely and reflected a development from elitist temple of learning to a public living room. Hybrids between library and department store or theater were conceived. Today, the ubiquity of electronic devices and media needs to be taken into account by the designer: every new library has areas without any books now. This work of reference explains systematically all technological and planning requirements of library design. Special features such as RFID, signage, acoustics or specific structural load issues are explained in texts by experts from the fields of architecture and library science. Finally, approximately 40 best-practice case studies of contemporary library design are documented extensively. They are organized in four categories - national libraries, large public libraries, small public libraries, university libraries - and comprise high-profile examples such as Jo Coenen's Openbare Bibliotheek Amsterdam, Alvaro Siza's Public Library Viana do Castelo in Portugal or Mecanoo's Library of Birmingham from 2013.
Listen to an American Libraries Dewey Decibel podcast featuring one of the authors now! Distilling hard fought wisdom gleaned from hundreds of successful library construction projects they've supervised or coordinated, the authors present this definitive resource on library architecture. With a special emphasis on avoiding common problems in library design, in a down-to-earth manner they address a range of issues applicable to any undertaking. From planning completely new library buildings to small remodeling projects, they offer specific how-to and how-not-to guidance. Packed with lists and headings to allow for easy scanning, this handbook provides nuts-and-bolts guidance on the entire process of planning, design, and construction, including "snappy rules" summarizing each chapter; covers new construction, remodeling and expanding of existing buildings, and conversion of non-library spaces to libraries; explains how library buildings actually function as objects, and how that applies to library design; reviews typical design problems of existing libraries, and advises libraries on how to avoid creating dysfunctional buildings and spaces; shows how to collaborate productively with planners, architects, and contractors; discusses the technical needs of basic library spaces, including collection storage, user seating, meeting and conference rooms, craft rooms, study areas, service desks, restrooms, and staff workspaces; and includes careful consideration of technical requirements relating to lighting, electrical systems, security systems, elevators, staircases, and other areas. Library directors, staff, and planning professionals will want this handbook close at hand before, during, and after any library construction project.
How could a smarter locker make life easier for the kids in your school? Great inventors use a process called design thinking to help them identify problems, big and small, and create solutions for them. This book introduces readers to design thinking and asks them to look at their locker (the pros and cons of it) in a specific way to figure out how to improve it. Design thinking fosters innovation, creativity, and even empathy--essential learning for students. Book includes table of contents, glossary of key words, index, author biography, sidebars, infographics, and instructions.