What are the most important things a 21st-century library should do with its space? This title includes chapters that address this critical question, capturing the insights and practical ideas of international librarians, educators and designers to offer you a 'creative resource bank' that helps to transform your library and learning spaces.
Libraries as a building type have been subjected to substantial changes in particular in the past ten years. Milestones such as Rem Koolhaas' Seattle Central Library from 2004 reinvented the typology completely and reflected a development from elitist temple of learning to a public living room. Hybrids between library and department store or theater were conceived. Today, the ubiquity of electronic devices and media needs to be taken into account by the designer: every new library has areas without any books now. This work of reference explains systematically all technological and planning requirements of library design. Special features such as RFID, signage, acoustics or specific structural load issues are explained in texts by experts from the fields of architecture and library science. Finally, approximately 40 best-practice case studies of contemporary library design are documented extensively. They are organized in four categories - national libraries, large public libraries, small public libraries, university libraries - and comprise high-profile examples such as Jo Coenen's Openbare Bibliotheek Amsterdam, Alvaro Siza's Public Library Viana do Castelo in Portugal or Mecanoo's Library of Birmingham from 2013.
Topics discussed include how the growth of electronic resource collections changed the physical aspects of libraries, the three-pronged utilization of library space including galleries to display student work, makerspaces, and the collection, and other design considerations including security and wireless capabilities.
Disaster Planning for Libraries
by Guy Robertson
Publication Date: 2014-12-09
Libraries are constantly at risk. Every day, many libraries and their collections are damaged by fire, flooding, high winds, power outages, and criminal behaviour. Every library needs a plan to protect its staff, sites and collections, including yours. Disaster Planning for Libraries provides a practical guide to developing a comprehensive plan for any library.
The article presents information on several companies' work creating library security systems. Topics include details on manufacturing of security products for libraries such as radio-frequency identification (RFID) systems, software security, and RFID security pedestal gates.
Topics discussed include campus carry legislation which allows students to carry guns to their college campus, protests by gun owners against a rule of a public library which prohibited guns in the library, a lawsuit in which a court ruled that banning of guns by the library was violation of gun regulations.
Focuses on the enhancement of library security services on occupational health and safety (OHS) among libraries in Canada. Topics discussed include the security risk of various library materials including books, magazines and chairs and recommendations to conduct security and safety measure for library users and librarians.
The Green Library Planner is designed for members of library building design teams who typically are not actively engaged in architecture, construction, or engineering, but who need an introduction to the rationale for green buildings, the elements of green building, and the language of the field. It will be equally useful for public officials, boards, or administrators who are considering a new green library building, a renovated library structure, or sustainable elements for a current library facility.
Seed libraries are a relatively new innovation in the library field, offering seeds, gardening information, and the opportunity for community and ecological engagement to members. While they are increasingly popular in public libraries, they have not yet established a foothold in academic libraries. This paper defines the nature and role of seed libraries, the current state of seed libraries in North American universities, and offers recommendations for the establishment of seed libraries in academic libraries.
The Library at the Dock is a successful public building that seamlessly integrates environmental sustainability with social inclusiveness. The architects have cleverly turned the constraints of minimizing the
building’s physical loading on the heritage-listed wharf into an inspired opportunity.
This article provides recommendations that can be used by public library services and associated organisations when considering building or refurbishing library buildings. Recommendations range from simple and easy-to-implement practices and procedures, to large-scale building development. It also provides a framework for libraries to follow when designing a new building, refurbishing existing buildings and raising community awareness of the benefits of designing and running sustainable libraries.
Identifies particular design features and architectural elements which users of public libraries enjoy and would like to see both in new and refurbished library buildings. The findings also reinforce the importance of libraries to communities and the need to ensure design meets the needs of, and reflects the identities of, those communities.
Reports on the importance of acoustical management in open floor plans in libraries. The article discusses noise control in library environments through using sound-absorbing treatments and partial-height barriers in the form of bookshelves and partitions.