Gerontology Research Guide

In two volumes, the APA Handbook of Clinical Geropsychology offers a well-balanced scientist-practitioner approach, with chapters that succinctly review empirical research across a broad range of areas and offer practical approaches for the application of theory to everyday practice with the aging population. The handbook reviews the history of clinical geropsychology and geropsychology practice, to help the reader better understand how the field has grown over the past 30 plus years and to assess the several directions in which it is headed. Chapter authors highlight strength-based approaches to human development and aging, review the status of evidence-based treatment, explore the interface of geriatric medicine and clinical psychotherapy, review several ""normal aging"" areas of research, and discuss such common psychological, neurological, and other medical issues common in aging as depression, late-life anxiety disorders, schizophrenia, alcohol abuse and substance misuse, suicidal behaviour, mild cognitive impairment, Alzheimer's, and many more. The reader will not only gain knowledge about foundational competencies in the field of clinical geropsychology, but will also find a treasure of information related to assessment, intervention, and consultation in this continually evolving field.

Since its inception in 1987, Encyclopedia of Aging has proven to be the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics. Like its three esteemed predecessors, the fourth edition contains concise, readable explorations of hundreds of terms, concepts, and issues related to the lives of older adults, as well as timely coverage of the many new programs and services for the elderly. Updated, under the distinguished stewardship of editor-in-chief Richard Schulz to reflect the infusion of new information across the scientific disciplines, this new edition brings readers up-to-the-moment significant advances in biology, physiology, genetics, medicine, psychology, nursing, social services, sociology, economics, technology, and political science. While retaining the format and standard of excellence that marked the first three editions, the fourth edition encompasses a wealth of new information from the social and health sciences. It contains the most current bibliography of an expanding literature, an exhaustive index, and extensive cross references. This much anticipated update of the field's most authoritative resource will take its place as an indispensable reference for specialists and non-specialists across a broad range of disciplines that now comprise the field of aging.

Praise for the Third Edition: "The third edition of this outstanding resource reflects the many advances in the care of older people that have occurred since the publication of the second edition...The vast bulk of the content is accessible and relevant to an international audience. The indexing and cross-referencing are excellent... Score: 5/5 stars." -- Margaret Arthur, Nursing Standard "The information in this book] is amazing. I reviewed topics in which I have expertise and was very satisfied. This is an excellent addition to my library and I will refer to it often, much like a medical dictionary... Score: 90, 4 Stars." --Doody's Medical Reviews "Provides 273 comprehensive, yet succinct, entries on a variety of topics related to elder care. In addition, many of the entries include see also references that help readers easily navigate the book. Recommended." --Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries This expanded, one-of-a-kind reference of more than 250 entries provides a comprehensive guide to all of the essential elements of elder care across a breadth of health and social service disciplines. Responding to the needs of providers, directcare workers, family, and other caregivers, the diverse array of entries included in this encyclopedia recognize and address the complex medical, social, and psychological problems associated with geriatric care. In addition to a brief, accessible summary of each topic, entries include several key references, including web links and mobile apps for additional sources of information. This updated edition contains more than 30 new entries written by renowned experts that address a variety of elder care topics. New to the Fourth Edition: New entries addressing Ethics Consultation, Eye Disorders, Pain - Acute and Chronic, and many others Key Features: Provides succinct descriptions of over 250 key topics for health and social service cliniciansOffers crucial information for elder care providers across all settings and disciplinesDistills current, evidence-based literature sourcesWritten by nationally recognized expert researchers and cliniciansIncludes links to useful websites and mobile apps

SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Health and Aging. This one-volume encyclopedia presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on health and aging. The 250 entries and relevant appendices cover: biological; psychological; social; and economic aspects of health and aging and impacts within health-care systems. As an ever increasing percentage of the population of western societies enters `old age', health issues grow in importance in terms of the well-being of this population, economic impact within the health-care system, impacts on families and family relationships and in so many other ways. The Encyclopedia of Health and Aging covers issues including: - acute illness; - Alzheimer's disease; - bereavement; - cataracts; - centenarians; - dementia; - economic; - dependency; - exercise; - health care costs; - health promotion; - hospice care; - long-term care; - managed care; - medications; - menopause; - nursing homes; - nutrition; - obesity; - optimal aging; - osteoporosis; - Parkinson's disease; - public policy; - `quality of life'; - religiosity; - sexual function; - sleep disturbances; - smoking; - spousal care-giving; - stroke; - widowhood; - wisdom. Also included are landmark studies: Duke Longitudinal Study of Aging; Framingham Heart Study; MacArthur Study of Successful Aging; Established Populations for the Epidemiologic Studies of the Elderly (EPESE); Health and Retirement Study (HRS); and National Long-Term Care Survey, as well as important social and health programmes including: social security, `meals on wheels' and Medicaid/Medicare. The Encyclopedia of Health and Aging is cross-disciplinary, with contributions from the fields of: gerontology; epidemiology; health psychology; biology; sociology; health and medicine; and public policy.

#65533;Provides a unique perspective. I am particularly impressed with the sections on innovative design and methods to investigate cognitive aging and the integrative perspectives. None of the existing texts covers this material to the same level.#65533; #65533;Donna J. La Voie, Saint Louis University #65533;The emphasis on integrating the literature with theoretical and methodological innovations could have a far-reaching impact on the field.#65533; #65533;Deb McGinnis, Oakland University The Handbook of Cognitive Aging: Interdisciplinary Perspectives clarifies the differences in patterns and processes of cognitive aging. Along with a comprehensive review of current research, editors Scott M. Hofer and Duane F. Alwin provide a solid foundation for building a multidisciplinary agenda that will stimulate further rigorous research into these complex factors. Key Features Gathers the widest possible range of perspectives by including cognitive aging experts in various disciplines while maintaining a degree of unity across chapters#65533;Examines the limitations of the extant literature, particularly in research design and measurement, and offers new suggestions to guide future research#65533;Highlights the broad scope of the field with topics ranging from demography to development to neuroscience, offering the most complete coverage available on cognitive aging

This comprehensive reference in family gerontology reviews and critiques the recent theoretical, empirical, and methodological literature; identifies future research directions; and makes recommendations for gerontology professionals. This book is both an updated version of and a complement to the original Handbook of Families and Aging. The many additions include the most recent demographic changes on aging families, new theoretical formulations, innovative research methods, recent legal issues, and death and bereavement, as well as new material on the relationships themselves--sibling, partnered, and intergenerational relationships, for example. Among the brand-new topics in this edition are step-family relationships, aging families and immigration, aging families and 21st-century technology, and peripheral family ties. Unlike the more cursory summaries found in textbooks, the essays within Handbook of Families and Aging, Second Edition provide thoughtful, in-depth coverage of each topic. No other book provides such a comprehensive and timely overview of theory and research on family relationships, the contexts of family life, and major turning points in late-life families. Nevertheless, the contents are written to be engaging and accessible to a broad audience, including advanced undergraduate students, graduate students, researchers, and gerontology practitioners. Serious lay readers will also find this book highly informative about contemporary family issues. Comprises 23 chapters of all-original work covering background information, relationships, contexts of family life, and turning points such as retirement and divorce Contributions from 46 distinguished scholars recognized as leading experts in their fields Citations for cutting-edge research on each topic, plus foundational references in new areas A detailed topic index

The Handbook of Gerontology Research Methods offers a clear understanding of the most important research challenges and issues in the burgeoning field of the psychology of aging. As people in developed countries live longer, so a range of research methods has evolved that allows a more nuanced understanding of how we develop psychological and neurologically. Allied to this is an increasing concern with the idea of well-being, a concept which places cognitive performance and development within a more socially grounded context.　 With contributions from a range of top international scholars, the book addresses both typical and atypical aging, highlighting key areas such as physical and cognitive exercise, nutrition, stress, diabetes and issues related to death, dying and bereavement. Successful ageing is emphasised throughout the text. Each chapter concludes with a series of practical tips on how to undertake successful research in this area. This unique collection is the first book to provide both a concise overview of the major themes, findings and current controversies in this growing field, as well as an understanding of the practical issues when researching older adults which may impact on research outcomes, intervention, policy and future directions. Designed for both students and researchers interested in the psychology of aging, but also highly relevant for students or researchers in related fields such as health psychology and social care, the Handbook of Gerontology Research Methods is essential reading for anyone wishing to understand more about the psychology of aging.

Meeting a growing need, this authoritative reference and text comprehensively examines the interplay of biological, psychological, and social factors in health and illness in older adults. The volume explores how and why some people adapt more successfully than others to age-related stressors such as chronic illness, disability, and loss, and identifies ways to promote coping and resilience. With contributions from leading researchers in health psychology and gerontology, the Handbook integrates state-of-the-science theories and methods from both fields. Key topics include how aging affects the cardiovascular, neuroendocrine, and immune systems; the influences on adult development and health of personality, emotions, social support, and religiousness; and effective interventions in healthcare settings.

The Handbook of Sociology of Aging is the most comprehensive, engaging, and up-to-date treatment of developments within the field over the past 30 years. The volume represents an indispensable source of the freshest and highest standard scholarship for scholars, policy makers, and aging professionals alike. The Handbook of Sociology of Aging contains 45 far-reaching chapters, authored by nearly 80 of the most renowned experts, on the most pressing topics related to aging today. With its recurring attention to the social forces that shape human aging, and the social consequences and policy implications of it, the contents will be of interest to everyone who cares about what aging means for individuals, families, and societies. The chapters of the Handbook of Sociology of Aging illustrate the field's extraordinary breadth and depth, which has never before been represented in a single volume. Its contributions address topics that range from foundational matters, such as classic and contemporary theories and methods, to topics of longstanding and emergent interest, such as social diversity and inequalities, social relationships, social institutions, economies and governments, social vulnerabilities, public health, and care arrangements. The volume closes with a set of personal essays by senior scholars who share their experiences and hopes for the field, and an essay by the editors that provides a roadmap for the decade ahead. The Handbook of Sociology of Aging showcases the very best that sociology has to offer the study of human aging.

This state-of-the-art handbook will keep researchers and practitioners in gerontology abreast of the newest theories and models of aging. With virtually all new contributors and content, this edition contains 35 chapters by the most highly respected luminaries in the field. It addresses theories and concepts built on cumulative knowledge in four disciplinary areas√>=biology, psychology, social sciences, and policy and practice√>=as well as landmark advances in trans-disciplinary science. With its explicit focus on theory, the handbook is unique in providing essential knowledge about primary explanations for aging, spanning from cells to societies. The chapters in the third edition place a strong emphasis on the future of theory development, assessing the current state of theories and providing a roadmap for how theory can shape research, and vice versa, in years to come. Many chapters also address connections between theories and policy or practice. Each set of authors has been asked to consider how theories in their area address matters of diversity and inequalities in aging, and how theories might be revised or tested with these matters in mind. The third edition also contains a new section, "Standing on the Shoulders of Giants," which includes personal essays by senior gerontologists who share their perspectives on the history of ideas in their fields, and on their experiences with the process and prospects of developing good theory. Hallmarks of the Third Edition: Highlights important gains in trans-disciplinary theories of aging Emphasizes the future of theory development Provides insights on theory development from living legends in gerontology Examines what human diversity and inequality mean for aging theories Emphasizes interconnections between theory, research, intervention, and policy Underscores international issues with greater representation of international authors Includes section introductions by the editors and associate editors that summarize theoretical developments Key Features: Highlights variability and diversity in aging processes, from the cellular level of biological aging to the societal level of public policy Provides insights on theory development from living legends in gerontology Offers intergenerational, interdisciplinary, and international perspectives Disseminates a forward-thinking, future-oriented focus in theory development

Handbook of the Psychology of Aging, Eighth Edition, tackles the biological and environmental influences on behavior as well as the reciprocal interface between changes in the brain and behavior during the course of the adult life span. The psychology of aging is important to many features of daily life, from workplace and the family, to public policy matters. It is complex, and new questions are continually raised about how behavior changes with age. Providing perspectives on the behavioral science of aging for diverse disciplines, the handbook explains how the role of behavior is organized and how it changes over time. Along with parallel advances in research methodology, it explicates in great detail patterns and sub-patterns of behavior over the lifespan, and how they are affected by biological, health, and social interactions. New topics to the eighth edition include preclinical neuropathology, audition and language comprehension in adult aging, cognitive interventions and neural processes, social interrelations, age differences in the connection of mood and cognition, cross-cultural issues, financial decision-making and capacity, technology, gaming, social networking, and more. Tackles the biological and environmental influences on behavior as well as the reciprocal interface between changes in the brain and behavior during the course of the adult life span Covers the key areas in psychological gerontology research in one volume Explains how the role of behavior is organized and how it changes over time Completely revised from the previous edition New chapter on gender and aging process

The area of work and aging is complex and multi-faceted. Its foundation is formed by a wide array of disciplines that both contribute to the complexity of its understanding, and offer fertile promise for research, development, and application in the years ahead. With an ever-growing populationof older workers, many of whom are suggesting they will likely continue to work past traditional retirement age, it becomes all the more important that we increase our efforts to develop a more thorough understanding of older workers, the nature of their interactions with work and the organizationsfor which they work, and the process of transitioning to retirement. Clearly, there are huge societal and global challenges that will both inform and influence research and application at the individual and organizational levels.The Oxford Handbook of Work and Aging examines the aging workforce from an individual worker, organization, and societal perspective, and offers both an integration of current cross-disciplinary knowledge, and a roadmap for where research and application should be focused in the future to addressissues of an aging workforce. The volume is divided into six core sections: demography, theoretical and methodological issues, the older worker, organizational strategies for an older workforce, individual and organizational perspectives on work and retirement, and societal perspectives with anaging workforce. Bringing together seasoned authors from diverse academic and professional backgrounds, new approaches to recruiting, workplace flexibility, and the right mix of benefits and incentives are presented as a way of engaging an older workforce.

A comprehensive book written by experienced practitioners, this single-volume work describes clinical competencies, specific challenges, and applications in providing services to the elderly and their caregivers. More people are living past age 65 than ever before in the United States, largely due to medical care advances and increased attention to preventive care. The number of people aged 65 and older has increased from 35 million in 2000 to 40 million in 2010, and the elderly population is expected to reach 72 million by 2030. Additionally, the American Psychological Association estimates at least 20 percent of all people aged 65 and older have a diagnosable mental disorder. There is a clear need to provide additional training support to those in the field of elder care as well as those who are friends or family members of older adults. Written by a team of experts each specializing in an aspect of elder care, The Praeger Handbook of Mental Health and the Aging Community is a single-volume text that addresses the training needs of mental health care providers serving the aging population. It offers holistic and integrated models of care after presenting an in-depth explanation of the brain, body, social, and emotional changes across aging that can trigger psychological disorders. The chapters pay attention to issues of diversity and culture in America's aging population; present an integrated care model to serve all of the needs of mentally ill elders; include numerous case studies to demonstrate how approaches can be utilized; and discuss topics such as disability, poverty, and the legal and ethical ramifications of elder care. Includes therapeutic interventions and addresses critical elements including diversity, poverty, disability, and the law and ethics of elder care Features case studies that clearly illustrate expressive arts, animal-assisted therapy, couple's counseling, family therapy, and evidence-based treatments Ideally suited to students, psychologists, counselors, therapists, and health professionals who work with, or aim to practice with, elderly people and their families Enables interns in their early years of practice to ensure that their services are appropriate, client centered, client driven, and evidence-based

Following an introduction that outlines the history and projects the future of gerontology, the authors offer insightful profiles of roughly 300 researchers, teachers, and practitioners in aging. North Americans are heavily represented, though gerontologists from Great Britain and the Continent are included as well. The dictionary can be read for an overview of the field, while cross-listings and a complete name and subject index make it an ideal reference. Each entry contains a professional and academic biography, along with citations and succinct descriptions of the individual's important contributions to the study of the elderly and aging.