The Fourth Judicial District Court of Nebraska is a trial court of general jurisdiction serving Douglas County, which includes the city of Omaha, in eastern Nebraska. With an estimated population of over 480,000 residents, the sixteen judges of the Fourth Judicial District Court serve the largest judicial district in Nebraska. As a district court in Nebraska, the Fourth Judicial District Court has general, original and appellate jurisdiction in all matters, both civil and criminal, except where otherwise provided. Among the case types the district court hears are domestic relations cases, paternity cases, and primarily all felony criminal, equity and civil cases involving more than $51,000. The district court also functions as an appellate court in deciding appeals from certain county court case types and various administrative agencies.
The District of Nebraska is one of 94 federal court districts in the United States. There are three divisions in the District of Nebraska, and we staff offices in two of those divisions, in Lincoln and Omaha.
The District Court hears all felony criminal cases, equity cases, domestic relations cases, and civil cases involving more than $51,000. It also functions as an appellate court in deciding appeals from county courts and various administrative agencies.
THE NEBRASKA SUPREME COURT is the state’s court of last resort. Its decisions are binding on all trial courts, as well as the Court of Appeals. The Supreme Court is composed of a Chief Justice and six Associate Justices representing the six Judicial Districts of the State. The Chief Justice represents the State at large and also serves as the executive head of the Nebraska Judicial Branch.
Formerly LexisNexis, Nexis Uni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including decisions of the Federal courts and the appellate courts of all 50 states. (Also includes Zacks Equity Research.)
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for articles published in journals spanning several disciplines, emphasizing articles which address criminal justice. Topical coverage includes crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.
Provides online access to the published decisions of the federal courts and the appellate courts of all 50 states. Also includes federal and state codes and regulations and articles published in over 700 law review journals.