LibGuides: STEM Education Research Guide: Publishing

Journal Directories

Cabell’s Scholarly Analytics This link opens in a new window
The Journalytics provides article submission information for over 11,000 research journals, including analytics such as impact factors and altmetrics scores. The Predatory Reports notes journals identified as engaging in deceptive, fraudulent, and/or predatory practices. (This database was formerly known as Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities.)
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on over 7,100 journals with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography.

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to open access scientific and scholarly journals.

DigitalCommons@UNO

DigitalCommons@UNO holds works that showcase the research and scholarly output of the University of Nebraska Omaha, such as previously published journal articles, books, book chapters, unpublished works, technical reports, online journals, conferences and events held on campus, and other materials deemed appropriate by the administration of Criss Library. Faculty publications, proceedings, and presentations are broken down by college, department, or program.

DigitalCommons@UNO
DigitalCommons@UNO is a digital showcase of the research and scholarly output of the members of the University of Nebraska at Omaha community.

Journal Impact

Here are two databases that are useful in determining the importance of a journal. These databases track citations to determine how many scholars are citing articles from particular journals.

Journal Citation Reports
Select "JCR Social Sciences Edition." From there you can get lists of the top journals by subject including communication and linguistics. This database doesn't really work for literature and other humanities subjects.
Google Scholar Metrics
Use this tool to explore publications in research areas of your interest. To explore specific research areas, select one of the broad areas, click on the "Subcategories" link and then select one of the options.