UNO students, faculty, and staff are eligible for a personal account for the online New York Times. Click here to login through your library account to validate your eligibility, and then set up a New York Times account using your unomaha.edu email address as your username.
A UNO account includes access to the TimesMachine, the scanned archive extending back to 1851. Click into the menu at the upper left of the NYT homepage and then click "More" and then "TimesMachine."
Search over 5,000 news sources across the United States and over 2,500 from around the world. Time coverage extends back 30 years for some sources, and the database is updated every day. Includes the Omaha World Herald back to 1983 and the Lincoln Journal Star back to 1997
The library's account includes volumes published through 2021. For Off-Campus Access: click the "Institution login" tab and select University of Nebraska at Omaha. You will then be prompted to login with your UNO credentials (NetID username, password + 2-factor).
The United States has always been a nation of immigrants, shaped by successive waves of new arrivals. This comprehensive guide, edited and written by an interdisciplinary group of prominent scholars, provides an authoritative account of the most recent surge of immigrants. Based on the latest U.S. Census data and scholarly research, The New Americans is an essential reference for anyone curious about the changing face of America.
The Historical Dictionary of Hinduism relates the history of Hinduism through a chronology, an introductory essay, photos, an extensive bibliography, and over 1,000 cross referenced dictionary entries on Hindu terminology, names of major historical figures and movements, gods and goddesses, prominent temples, terms for items used in Hindu practice, major texts, philosophical concepts, and more.
Hinduism is the main religion of India, and this new dictionary provides an unrivaled insight to all aspects of Hindu life, past and present. Some thousand illustrated entries elucidate the history of Hinduism, its mythology, art, architecture, religion, laws, and folklore.
Search the Catalog
Search Criss Library and beyond
Use the catalog to search for dictionaries and encyclopedias of Hinduism or books about the history of India.