LibGuides: JMC4370 Research Guide: Newspapers

Historical Newspapers

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles.
New York Times online for UNO This link opens in a new window
UNO students, faculty, and staff are eligible for a personal account for the online New York Times. Click here to login through your library account to validate your eligibility, and then set up a New York Times account using your unomaha.edu email address as your username.

A UNO account includes access to the TimesMachine, the scanned archive extending back to 1851. Click into the menu at the upper left of the NYT homepage and then click "More" and then "TimesMachine."
Omaha World Herald, 1885- This link opens in a new window
Search the Omaha World Herald historical image file (1885-1983) and the current text file(1983- ). Beginning in September 2018, a new current file includes searchable page and article images.
The Times digital archive, 1785- This link opens in a new window
Contains the Times of London, fully scanned and searchable. Widely regarded as the world's "newspaper of record," The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning and objective coverage of global events since 1785, and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication.
Wall Street Journal, 1889- This link opens in a new window
The archival database for the Wall Street Journal, containing scanned and searchable issues and articles extending from 1889-1999, with another year added annually. Search the ABI-Inform Global database to find Wall Street Journal articles extending from 1984 to the present.

Magazines

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
The American Periodicals Series brings the early days of U.S. history alive through more than 7,000,000 digitized page images from over 1,000 periodicals spanning 200 years. The wide variety of content ranges from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, first published in 1741, to literary and professional journals, specialized titles, and such well-known magazines as Vanity Fair, Ladies' Home Journal, Scientific American, and The Dial.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This resource offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. The library's account includes all four collections released by ProQuest as of 2019.
Economist Historical Archive,1843- This link opens in a new window
In more than 8,000 issues since its first publication in 1843, The Economist has presented timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. With objective authority, clarity and wit, The Economist presents the worlds political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them. Because of its global editorial perspective, it is read by more of the worlds political and business leaders than any other magazine.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals.

Life Magazine
The scanned online archive of Life Magazine extends from 1936-1972. Read by millions each week, the magazine explored society, politics, and popular culture not only in the United States, but also around the world.
Saturday Evening Post
The scanned online archive hosted by EBSCO extends from 1931 to the present. The Saturday Evening Post reached millions of subscribers in its heyday with news, short stories, and essays.

Listener Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the complete, fully searchable facsimile archive of The Listener, the BBC periodical published from 1929-1991
Picture Post Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour.
Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This database offers an online archive of the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, which for many decades has been a major index to articles published in news magazines such as Time, Newsweek, and U.S. News & World Report as well as popular magazines like Good Housekeeping and Reader's Digest.

Newspapers on microfilm

Most newspapers are filed alphabetically by title in the green label microfilm cabinets, though a few were assigned call numbers and shelved on the far west wall of the 1st Floor. Ask at the Service Desk on the 1st Floor if you need help finding the microfilm or using the microfilm reader/scanner machines.

Atlanta Constitution, 1868-1900.

Barron’s, 1944-2005.

Chicago Defender, 1921-2013.

Commercial and Financial Chronicle, 1915-1987.

Iowa Frontier Newspapers. This miscellaneous collection spans the years 1838-1859.

Jewish Press, 1920-1995 [filed at call number BM1 .J55]

Lincoln Journal, 1977-1991.

Lincoln Star, 1902-1991.

Morning Chronicle (London), 1801-1870.

National Police Gazette, V.1 (1845)-V.57 (1891); V.59 (1891)-V.67 (1896); V.69 (1896)-V.89 (1906) [filed at call number HV6201 .N2]. Issues, with some gaps, also available in the American Periodicals Series database.

Nebraska State Journal, 1867-1951.

New Orleans Times-Picayune, 1899-1921 [filed at call number F366 .D34.]

New York Amsterdam News, 1922-2013.

Observer (London), 1791-1917.

Omaha Bee-News, 1872-1937 on microfilm. The Omaha Daily Bee extending from July 1874 into April 1916 has been scanned by the Center for Digital Research in the Humanities at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and made freely available online at the Library of Congress' Chronicling America website.

Omaha Herald, 1867-1889. Scanned copies extending from 1866-1879 are available via the library's Newsbank account.

Omaha Monitor, 1915-1929.

Omaha Republican, 1865-1890 on microfilm. Scanned copies extending from 1866-1880 are available via the library's Newsbank account.

Omaha Star, 1938-To Date on microfilm. The Omaha Star historical file (1938-2011) and the current file (2011- , updated monthly) are available in the Access World News database.

Omaha World-Herald, 1889-2018 on microfilm. The Omaha World Herald scanned historical file (1885-1983) and the current text file (1983- , updated daily) are both available in the Access World News database. Microfilm production ended after 2018 and was replaced by a daily image file, available in Access World News beginning in September 2018.

Pall Mall Gazette, 1866-1923.

Pravda, 1979-1993.

Southern Civil War Era Newspapers. This is a collection of newspapers published in cities across the Confederate States during the Civil War. Search the keyword "Southern Civil War Era Newspapers" in the catalog to see a complete list of the newspapers.

Unionist (Omaha), 1930-1979.

Village Voice, 1957-2002.

Wall Street Transcript, 1972-1992.

Washington Post, 1970-1976.