LibGuides: Systematic Reviews: Further Reading & Support

Databases

A to Z Database List
Alphabetical list of all Criss Library databases. You can sort by subject area or browse through the list to find a database related to your topic.

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The three major emphases include systematic reviews, controlled trials, and clinical answers.
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, and journal articles by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

Quick Search

Books

An Introduction to Systematic Reviews by David Gough (Editor); Sandy Oliver (Editor); James Thomas (Editor)
ISBN: 1473929431

Publication Date: 2017-05-05

Focused on actively using systematic review as method, this book provides clear, step-by-step advice on the logic and processes of systematic reviewing. Stressing the importance of precision and accuracy, this new edition carefully balances a need for insightful theory with real-world pragmatism; it introduces a wide range of cutting-edge approaches to research synthesis including text mining, living reviews and new ideas in mixed methods reviews such as qualitative comparative analysis.
Systematic Reviews by Carole Torgerson
ISBN: 9781441184689

Publication Date: 2003-12-01

Any piece of primary research ought to be preceded by a systematic review. The key advantage of a systematic review over the traditional narrative review is its ability to identify all the available eveidence in a systematic and replicable manner. This book will describe a) the key steps to undertaking a systematic review and b) the process of undertaking a meta-analysis. The book will include step-by-step examples of how to design data extraction forms, search strategies and combine in a meta-analysis.
Systematic Reviews in the Social Sciences by Mark Petticrew; Helen Roberts
ISBN: 9781405121101

Publication Date: 2005-12-16

This book, written by two highly-respected social scientists, provides an overview of systematic literature review methods: Outlining the rationale and methods of systematic reviews; Giving worked examples from social science and other fields; Applying the practice to all social science disciplines; It requires no previous knowledge, but takes the reader through the process stage by stage; Drawing on examples from such diverse fields as psychology, criminology, education, transport, social welfare, public health, and housing and urban policy, among others.

Contact Me

Monica Maher

she/her

Contact:

mnmaher@unomaha.edu
Criss Library

Subjects: Education, English, Graduate Studies, Health and Fitness, Library Science, Linguistics, Literature, Psychology, World Languages & Literature