LibGuides: Digital Humanities: Digital Collections

Get help

Email: use http://libanswers.unomaha.edu/

Call: 402.554.3206

Schedule: an appointment with a Subject Librarian

Aggregators

Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Europeana This link opens in a new window
Explore millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings, they’re all here.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of over 200 institutions working together to digitize library and archival collections, and they have made over 6.5 million books freely available online. Current UNO faculty, students, and staff may login with their UNO credentials for greater access to the collections.

Online Image Repositories

Getty Search Gateway
The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required. Please use the following source credit when reproducing an image: Digital image courtesy of the Getty's Open Content Program.
U.S. Government Photos and Images Search
Some of these photos are in the public domain or U.S. government works and may be used without permission or fee. However, some images may be protected by license or copyright. You should read the disclaimers on each site before using these images.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Images may or may not be open access. Check the Rights and Restrictions for the collection or image for copyright information.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection Search
Search over 400,000 images in the Met's collection. Filter by artist, object type, location, date, and department.
British Library Images Online
Images Online is the picture library of the British Library, the national library of the United Kingdom.
New York Public Library Digital Commons
Spanning a wide range of historical eras, geography, and media, NYPL Digital Collections offers drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, videos, audio, and more. Items will be marked with copyright restrictions if they exist.
Open F|S
The complete digitized collections of the Freer and Sackler Galleries and the Freer Study Collection, the National Museums of Asian Art at the Smithsonian Institution in Washington D.C.
Flickr: The Commons
The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.
Wikimedia Commons
A database of tens of thousands of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
Screen Search
Magic lantern slides, film, videotape, digital formats, and associated hardware and documentation Resource Type Locate, collect, preserve, provide access to and promote screen material related to the South East and of general relevance to screen history. Over 7,000 films and some 10,000 lantern slides from the nineteenth century as well as a significant collection of apparatus and related artifacts.

Datasets

Humanities Datasets from the Rutgers University Libraries

More Public Domain & Creative Commons Media

Finding Public Domain & Creative Commons Media from Harvard Law School Library Guide

About Archives & Special Collections

The UNO Criss Library Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available to the university community and the public unique, rare, and specialized material. This includes personal papers, organizational records, books, maps, ephemera, and other material in selected subject areas including the Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection, University Archives, U.S. Senator Chuck Hagel Archives, and Special Collections & Rare Books.

You can learn more about finding and using material in Criss Library Archives & Special Collections online and we encourage you to contact us about your research.

Whether you're working on a paper for a class, producing a film, writing a book, planning a retirement celebration for a UNO colleague, or researching a campus history project, Archives & Special Collections has the resources for your project. We are also able to host classes in Archives & Special Collections, visit your classroom, and offer tours for groups.

OU cheerleaders sending off the football team to the Tangerine Bowl, December 1954.
Credit: UNO Photograph Collection, Archives & Special Collections, Dr. C.C. and Mabel L. Criss Library, University of Nebraska at Omaha.