Participatory Visual and Digital Methods by
Gubrium and Harper describe how visual and digital methodologies can contribute to a participatory, public-engaged ethnography. These methods can change the traditional relationship between academic researchers and the community, building one that is more accessible, inclusive, and visually appealing, and one that encourages community members to reflect and engage in issues in their own communities. The authors describe how to use photovoice, film and video, digital storytelling, GIS, digital archives and exhibits in participatory contexts, and include numerous case studies demonstrating their utility around the world.
Digital Storytelling in the Classroom by
This text shows how to integrate storytelling into curriculum design and use the principles of storytelling as a measurement of learning and literacies. It also covers important copyright and fair use information, and offers numerous implementation tips, concrete examples, and illustrative video clips. Aimed at primary and secondary teachers, the book is designed to help them: " Teach their students to create digital stories that employ effective principles of storytelling, technology application, and media technique. " Use digital storytelling as a tool to promote the development of emerging literacies, such as digital and media literacy, as well as traditional literacies, such as reading, writing, speaking, and art. " Help students use digital storytelling as an academic tool to explore content and to communicate what they understand. " Understand the importance of combining the power of story and critical thinking as an approach to teaching and learning.
The Cambridge Handbook of Multimedia Learning by
In the last decade, the field of multimedia learning emerged as a coherent discipline with an accumulated research base that had never been synthesized and organized in a handbook. The Cambridge Handbook of Multimedia Learning, first published in 2005, constituted the world's first handbook devoted to comprehensive coverage of research and theory in the field of multimedia learning. Multimedia learning is defined as learning from words (e.g., spoken or printed text) and pictures (e.g. illustrations, photos, maps, graphs, animation, or video). The focus of this handbook is on how people learn from words and pictures in computer-based environments. Multimedia environments include online instructional presentations, interactive lessons, e-courses, simulation games, virtual reality, and computer-supported in-class presentations. The Cambridge Handbook of Multimedia Learning seeks to establish what works (that is, to ground research in cognitive theory), and to consider when and where it works (that is, to explore the implications of research for practice).
Multiliteracies for a Digital Age by
Just as the majority of books about computer literacy deal more with technological issues than with literacy issues, most computer literacy programs overemphasize technical skills and fail to adequately prepare students for the writing and communications tasks in a technology-driven era. Multiliteracies for a Digital Age serves as a guide for composition teachers to develop effective, full-scale computer literacy programs that are also professionally responsible by emphasizing different kinds of literacies and proposing methods for helping students move among them in strategic ways. Defining computer literacy as a domain of writing and communication, Stuart A. Selber addresses the questions that few other computer literacy texts consider: What should a computer literate student be able to do? What is required of literacy teachers to educate such a student? How can functional computer literacy fit within the values of teaching writing and communication as a profession? Reimagining functional literacy in ways that speak to teachers of writing and communication, he builds a framework for computer literacy instruction that blends functional, critical, and rhetorical concerns in the interest of social action and change. Multiliteracies for a Digital Age reviews the extensive literature on computer literacy and critiques it from a humanistic perspective. This approach, which will remain useful as new versions of computer hardware and software inevitably replace old versions, helps to usher students into an understanding of the biases, belief systems, and politics inherent in technological contexts. Selber redefines rhetoric at the nexus of technology and literacy and argues that students should be prepared as authors of twenty-first-century texts that defy the established purview of English departments. The result is a rich portrait of the ideal multiliterate student in a digital age and a social approach to computer literacy envisioned with the requirements for systemic change in mind.
Omeka Resources
Scholarly associations are beginning to develop guidelines for the evaluation of digital scholarship, including born-digital research and hybrid publishing. The following associations have developed guidelines for their disciplines.
Modern Language Association (MLA)
American Historical Association (AHA)
Society of Architectural Historians (SAH)
