LibGuides: Promotion and Tenure at UNO: Publishing Opportunities

Journal Directories

Cabell’s Scholarly Analytics This link opens in a new window
The Journalytics provides article submission information for over 11,000 research journals, including analytics such as impact factors and altmetrics scores. The Predatory Reports notes journals identified as engaging in deceptive, fraudulent, and/or predatory practices. (This database was formerly known as Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities.)
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on over 7,100 journals with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography.

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to open access scientific and scholarly journals.

Predatory Journals

Wondering if that unsolicited Call for Papers is legitimate? Suspicious of an email wishing to publish your works with a quick turnaround? Use these sources to determine if the journal is considered predatory or contact your UNO subject librarian for more assistance.

Author Rights

Before you sign on the dotted line at the end of the Publisher's agreement, know your rights.

UNMC Author's Toolkit
McGoogan Library at UNMC has put together an excellent guide on author rights in academic publishing that includes sample author addendums.
Signing My Rights Away
Authorship can be a tricky thing, impacted by contractual agreements and even by shifting media. In this guest post by Jennifer Ahern-Dodson of Duke’s Thompson Writing Program we get an additional perspective on the issues, one that is unusual but might just become more common over time.
SPARC Introduction to Copyright Resources for Authors
Relationships are changing due to the rise of digital publishing in academia. In order to maximize the value of the research you produce in this new environment, it is important for you to take an active role in managing the copyrights to your work.
Columbia Law School: Keep Your Copyrights
This site is devoted to all authors and creators of works in the United States. It aims to make clear why you might want to keep your copyrights, and to provide information both to help you hold on to your rights and to grant on reasonable terms the rights you do license.

Who is citing whom?

Here are two databases that are useful in determining the importance of a journal. These databases track citations to determine how many scholars are citing articles from particular journals.

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides citation and publication data of academic journals in the science and social science fields.

Google Scholar Metrics
Use this tool to explore publications in research areas of your interest. To explore specific research areas, select one of the broad areas, click on the "Subcategories" link and then select one of the options.