LibGuides: Economics Research Guide: Industry Info

Industry Information Best Bets

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 4,000 journals in all disciplines of business, including the Harvard Business Review (1922-current). Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
The United States' most comprehensive collection of industry market research and industry risk ratings. Also includes reports addressing industries in Australia, China, and the United Kingdom.
Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Find business ratios by industry or company.

Consumer Insights from Statista
Worldwide insights on consumer attitudes and behaviors. Features a tool that allows you to create you own reports from scratch.

Standard & Poor's Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
A wealth of financial and operating information, including company intelligence, financials for public companies, industry-specific data, capital structure, fixed income, private equity & venture capital.

Capital IQ requires personal registration: UNO students and faculty please create a free personal account with your UNOMAHA.EDU email address.
Value Line Investment Surveys This link opens in a new window
The Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks in 97 industries, the stock market, and the economy.

IQS Directory for Manufacturing, Business and Engineering
Website presenting the OEM manufacturing marketplace in the U.S. and Canada in 180 industry categories with contact information for hundreds of manufacturers.

Find statistics via NAICS codes

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) helps researchers retrieve data about industries from a number of surveys conducted by government agencies. The numeric NAICS codes (up to 6-digits) serve as identifiers which make it easier to compile comparable data from multiple sources. Find NAICS and SIC codes or United Nations and Broad Economics Categories and data parsed by NAICS codes can be retrieved from these sources:

North American Industry Classification System
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
The Economic Census
The Economic Census: conducted once every five years, the Economic Census surveys business and industrial activity across the country.
The U.S. International Trade Commission DataWeb
The U.S. International Trade Commission DataWeb: foreign trade statistics (imports and exports).
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: demographics, industries, occupations, geography, and business costs.
The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis: quarterly gross domestic product (gdp) by industry, input-output accounts.

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary is the Organisation for European Cooperation and Development’s online collection of books, articles, and research studies addressing economic, industrial, business, and consumer concerns around the world.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is OECD’s Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.