Human Rights Research Guide

This is the eagerly awaited new edition of the established text Basic Documents on Human Rights which is an essential resource for all undergraduate students. The book provides an extensive collection of key documents and covering all elements of the subject, e.g. the Declaration on theElimination of Violence against Women, accompanied by authoritative commentary and annotation. The result is a clear and accurate account of the most important Human Rights instruments adopted by the United Nations and its agencies, by regional organisations and other actors in the field.Forty new or amended instruments are featured in this edition and coverage of the new treaties and conventions includes; the Declaration on the Rights of Persons Belonging to National or Ethnic, Religious, or Linguistic Minorities, new treaties in emerging areas such as bio-ethics and a variety ofadditional protocols including those on civil and political rights, women and children. A new section of the text identifies the current number of States parties and directs the reader to the internet and other sources providing access to the latest information on ratifications, reservations anddeclarations.

This reference work reflects the growing international concern over human rights. It provides explanations of the terminology, issues, organizations and laws surrounding this emotive subject. A Dictionary of Human Rights features: * over 200 clear and concise mini-essays * alphabetical arrangement for ease of use This book is a vital source for anyone interested in or connected with human rights issues.

This book defines the concept of human rights in all its diversity: the rights of individuals, peoples and nations; the rights to employment, education, culture and personal development; rights to a peaceful existence and to a clean, healthy environment; rights in the workplace; rights of special groups, such as the handicapped and the homeless; rights in war; and rights on land, sea and air. It also defines basic human needs, the right to assembly, and the right to cultural enjoyment, and analyzes legal decisions and international accords that have made these terms concrete realities. The encyclopaedia analyzes and reproduces the national and international documents and instruments which have affirmed or violated rights. It also includes landmark legal and legislative decisions in the field of human rights. There is also information on more than 130 non-governmental and intergovernmental organizations, such as the UN, the OAS and the Council of Europe

This outstanding, comprehensive, and up-to-date encyclopedia on human rights issues from 1945 to 1998 features more than 400 entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists. Its global scope is ideal for high school and college student research and class debate and for use with Model UN clubs. More than fifty years after the adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights in 1948, much has been accomplished on a global scale, particularly by the United Nations, to protect the rights of all people, but many human rights violations continue to be perpetrated. Langley, an internationally recognized expert on human rights, has provided the most current information on both the progress of human rights activities and the continuing incidents of human rights violations around the globe. Entries cover major issues, incidents and violations, concepts and terms, activists, organizations, and human rights instruments. Entries on more than fifty nations from Afghanistan to Yugoslavia were selected based on the incidence of major human rights in those nations. Comprehensive cross-references in each entry make it easy to research a topic and its related entries easily. Each entry concludes with a selected list of further reading for more in-depth research. A timeline of significant dates since 1945 in the field of human rights and the text of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights add reference value.

This newly revised, greatly expanded, and updated edition is the essential tool for navigating the language of international human rights related to law, jurisprudence, politics, diplomacy, and philosophy. Broadening the scope and enhancing our understanding of international human rights, the second edition of "A Handbook of International Human Rights Terminology" contains over four hundred new commonly used key terms and acronyms as well as corrections to terms that have taken on new meaning since the publication of the original. It also includes new treaty instruments and citations of important human rights instruments. Designed to be accessible to persons from different systems and regions of the world, this handbook fills an important void in the burgeoning discourse of international human rights and will become a vital reference work for specialists, students, and newcomers to this field.

This is a source for information on the background and history of human rights theory and practice in the international arena.

For the last half century, Latin America has been plagued by civil wars, dictatorships, torture, legacies of colonialism and racism, and other evils. The region has also experienced dramatic--if uneven--human rights improvements. The accounts of how Latin America's people have dealt with the persistent threats to their fundamental rights offer lessons for people around the world. Human Rights in Latin America: A Politics of Terror and Hope is the first textbook to provide a comprehensive introduction to the human rights issues facing an area that constitutes more than half of the Western Hemisphere. Leading human rights researcher and educator Sonia Cardenas brings together regional examples of both terror and hope, emphasizing the dualities inherent in human rights struggles. Organized by three pivotal topics--human rights violations, reform, and accountability--this book offers an authoritative synthesis of research on human rights on the continent. From historical accounts of abuse to successful transnational campaigns and legal battles, Human Rights in Latin America explores the tensions underlying a vast range of human rights initiatives. In addition to surveying the roles of the United States, relatives of the disappeared, and truth commissions, Cardenas covers newer ground in addressing the colonial and ideological underpinnings of human rights abuses, emerging campaigns for disability and sexuality rights, and regional dynamics relating to the International Criminal Court. Engagingly written and fully illustrated, Human Rights in Latin America creates an important niche among human rights and Latin American textbooks. Ample supplementary resources--including discussion questions, interdisciplinary reading lists, filmographies, online resources, internship opportunities, and instructor assignments--make this an especially valuable text for use in human rights courses.

This two volume set offers easy to grasp explanations of the basic concepts, laws, and case law in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States. Human Rights in the United States offers clear explanations of the basic concepts, laws, and case law in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States. It surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, explains the role of international governmental and nongovernmental organizations, and charts global, regional, and U.N. human rights measures. A bibliography, extensive glossary, and comprehensive index round out this indispensable volume. * Offers 240 dictionary entries of human rights terms--ranging from asylum and cultural relativism to hate crimes and torture. Each entry discusses the significance of the term, gives examples, and cites appropriate documents and court decisions * Provides a documents section containing 59 conventions, treaties, and protocols related to the most up to date international action on ethnic cleansing; freedom of expression and religion; violence against women; and much more * Includes a bibliography * A comprehensive introduction provides an overview of the coverage

The global importance of human rights issues has sparked an ongoing need to develop a universal language for human rights and the procedures for remedying violations, where remedies are, in fact, available. Giving the broadest scope to the terms human rights and freedoms, this reference encompasses constitutional rights and freedoms as well as those addressed in international and regional agreements.′′′′Through entries that define and describe concepts and terms, to text excerpts of documents, charts depicting global comparisons, essays on organizations, and biographies of activists and theorists, this reference will serve the research and information needs of students, scholars, activists, and interested citizens.′′′′As the title suggests, International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies goes beyond the abstract to include practical information on remedies for violations of a person′s rights and freedoms by a national government, and on the private and government rights organizations that assist in reporting on or enforcing human rights.′′′′All around the world, there is a growing interest in developing a universal language for human rights and the procedures for remedying violations. International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies is written for both students of the subject and those who are actively working in the field. This reference work points readers in the right direction for enforcing their rights rather than merely setting them forth in the abstract.′′