The Mindful Student Research Guide

The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required. Please use the following source credit when reproducing an image: Digital image courtesy of the Getty's Open Content Program.

Some of these photos are in the public domain or U.S. government works and may be used without permission or fee. However, some images may be protected by license or copyright. You should read the disclaimers on each site before using these images.

Images may or may not be open access. Check the Rights and Restrictions for the collection or image for copyright information.

Search over 400,000 images in the Met's collection. Filter by artist, object type, location, date, and department.

Online gallery of virtual books and online exhibitions with objects from the British Library Collections. Images will be marked either with copyright restrictions or are public domain or in the creative commons.

Spanning a wide range of historical eras, geography, and media, NYPL Digital Collections offers drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, videos, audio, and more. Items will be marked with copyright restrictions if they exist.

A collection of several personal research collections from medieval art scholars. Collections include: historical photographs that document key European and Eastern monuments and notable works of art from Classical, Byzantine, and Gothic stylistic periods.

The complete digitized collections of the Freer and Sackler Galleries and the Freer Study Collection, the National Museums of Asian Art at the Smithsonian Institution in Washington D.C.

The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.

A database of tens of thousands of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute

Magic lantern slides, film, videotape, digital formats, and associated hardware and documentation Resource Type Locate, collect, preserve, provide access to and promote screen material related to the South East and of general relevance to screen history. Over 7,000 films and some 10,000 lantern slides from the nineteenth century as well as a significant collection of apparatus and related artifacts.