LibGuides: Medical Humanities Research Guide: Society and Social Justice

Society and Social Justice Databases

Use the following databases to find journal articles on society and social justice topics:

Academic Search Complete
Provides broad coverage of most academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, and in the scholarly and general periodical literature. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 9,000 of those titles.
America: History and Life
Provides abstracts and citations for articles published in over 2,000 periodicals which address the history of the United States and Canada. The database also indexes books, book reviews, and Ph.D. dissertations.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
The American Theological Library Association compiles the ATLA Religion Database, which contains articles published in over 230 research journals and periodicals in Religious Studies. In addition, the database indexes book chapters and book reviews, thus extending its comprehensive coverage of the literature.
Gender Studies Database
This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
Indigenous Peoples: North America
"Incorporates collections from Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century. Encompassing over 1.2 million pages, the database includes manuscript records; book collections; newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations...."
Urban Studies Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.