Legal Research Guide

Provides online access to primary legal resources: 1) the decisions of the federal courts and the appellate courts of all 50 states; and 2) current federal and state statutes and regulations. Secondary resources include legal encyclopedias (American Jurisprudence and American Law Reports) and articles published in over 700 law review journals.

Formerly LexisNexis, Nexis Uni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including decisions of the Federal courts and the appellate courts of all 50 states. (Also includes Zacks Equity Research.)

AVAILABLE ONLY AT ON-CAMPUS COMPUTERS: This wide-ranging collection addresses legal and public policy concerns in many professional practice areas. Bloomberg Law also has a growing collection of Federal and state court decisions and related documents.

Consumer-level information drawn from hundreds of journals, magazines, and reference books. Includes access to NOLO Press books.

For most of the twentieth century, American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) was the principal defender of the rights that citizens can assert against their government. Its primary aims have been the defense of the freedoms of speech and press, the separation of church and state, the free exercise of religion, due process of law, equal protection of the law, and the privacy rights of all citizens.

The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources contains a virtual goldmine of information for researchers of American legal history—a fully searchable digital archive of the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state and territorial codes, municipal codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests, and more. Note that the term "primary sources" is used not in the historian's sense of a manuscript, letter or diary, but rather in the legal sense of a case, statute or regulation. The collection brings together many important documents that have been lost, destroyed, or previously inaccessible to researchers of American legal history around the world.

The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600–1926 is the world's most comprehensive full-text collection of documents from Anglo-American trials. In addition to works pertaining to English-speaking jurisdictions such as the United States, Britain, Ireland, and Canada, this digital archive also contains English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions, such as France. Users will find published trial transcripts; popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery, and other scandalous crimes; unofficially published accounts of trials, briefs, arguments, and other trial documents that were printed as separate publications; official records of legislative proceedings, , administrative proceedings, and arbitration sessions (domestic and international); and books encompassing multiple trials as well as books and pamphlets about a single trial.